Interesting facts (28/365)


Rheasilvia.jpg


For a long time Mount Olympus on Mars held the highest mountain title we know in the solar system. Its height, measured with the laser altimeter of the Mars Global Surveyor, is 21,287.4 meters, just over 21 kilometers. But it turns out that the mountain in the middle of the huge Rheasilvia crater in the asteroid Vesta (the bulge seen in the upper part of the image above) has an estimated height of 22 kilometers, which places it, although it is not much, in the first place in the list of highest mountains in the solar system.

Yes, it is possible that if some day we can measure your height more accurately (for now we have done thanks to the camera images of the Dawn probe) it is not as high, as it happened with Eris, that in the moment of its discovery it seemed to be bigger than Pluto although in the end it turned out that it was not.


This gif is the Great work of @skeptic Check out his work https://steemit.com/@skeptic, and say hello to him If you like his work consider upvote and following him :D


Thanks for reading me
If you liked or it was useful, do not forget to follow me, leave me your vote and if you want you can buy me a beer

buy_me_a_beer.png

with this you help me a lot and I can write content of better quality in the future.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency