A trap for fools - the road to economic disaster is paved with obedient sheeple.

I remember a conversation I had early on in the beginning of this p(l)andemic with a friend, cautioning me against the horrible virus. And even then, I was already appalled by the disastrous economic effects of the lockdown (I was always an early starter). I told her then that this lockdown would prove disastrous to our economy, and that that will be a blow the country will have a much harder time recovering from than the virus itself. 18 months later, I stand by my words, and I see that our capitalist overlords do, also. It's so nice to be validated, really. I see I wasn't wasting my efforts and that someone, at least, was paying attention.

image.png

Yesterday was the first day of the newly imposed restrictions here, by which you'll need a "health pass" to gorge on fast food or get a ripped body at the gym. Obviously, it won't affect the population much, but it will most certainly affect businesses. I was out with a friend last night, and we stopped by a couple of restaurants downtown, wondering if they'd let us sit outside, but apparently, that is now banned, also. We talked a bit with a few waiters and hostesses at these places, and I was struck by how upset they seemed by this imposition. First of all, they seemed genuinely sorry to tell us 'no'. After all, nobody wants to be the asshole, do they? Second, they were upset because of the serious impact this will have on their businesses. First, these restrictions will mean less customers. Next, it will be their jobs, and these people know this. After all, they spent much of last year at home, unemployed. Not enough to drive them out into the street, to protest, but hey, maybe this year...

I keep wondering, as many of the more educated will, why?. Why are they fighting so hard to destroy every country's economy? To cause so many to lose their jobs, and so many businesses to failure? Everything around us is becoming more expensive, businesses are dying - we are headed for dire times, my friends. Way worse than the current "catastrophe".
When I pointed this out to my friend, early last year, she was outraged - how could I even think about money, when we're talking about HEALTH?

But see, that's where you're wrong. You assume that these people passing harsher restrictions are interested in your health and welfare. What are they, your mother? Of course they're not interested in your health, otherwise they'd prevent you eating fast food, smoking, consuming alcohol, and doing so many other things that drive the economy. Hey, if it's alright to impose norms for your safety and health, they should, right? After all, mommy knows best.

Money has always spoken. It has always made the world go round, and I find it more plausible to believe that the people in charge care more about their money than my health. I'm just skeptical that way. What I don't get is this - all these businesses they're destroying are lucrative. They bring in money. They bring in tax to the government. And more importantly, they keep the people docile. Why are we closing them down? And what are we replacing them with?

Many people don't like to think too far. It hurts their brains, so often, they'll employ two-bit logic like "well, it's your fault these people are going out of business because you're refusing the vaccine". No. That's something akin to Stockholm Syndrome, what you've got, and I'd get it checked out asap. It's not my fault for standing up to abusive, divisive restrictions. It is the fault of the abusive, divisive assholes who ordered them, in the first place.

So while I know that would provide an easy explanation for why they're going out of business, it's not a logical one. Think again. And to quote classics, follow the money, or lack thereof. Several industries are dying around us, there are shortages wherever you look, unemployment is booming, more and more people are struggling to keep up with living costs. Where is this leading? And what will we do when we get there?

Reminds me of a little-known song that I've taken a lot of comfort in, these past few months. Obviously, the song itself is about Brexit, but I find it highly applicable to the pandemic situation, as well.

Watch the things you gave life to, broken and cursed
And though Europe may die, this death well-rehearsed
You will plough the lone furrow, just the same
And build it back up, on Albion's plain
[..]
Well they can't force your heart, can't force your faith
So you might as well hold on, on Albion's plain

You will learn how to hide, lеarn how to begin
You will learn how to print, what no censor lеts in
For no flag is flown, no fuss is made
And there's no shits given, on Albion's plain

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency