Learning to listen to others

Hi,

in the past years, I've learned and continue to learn how to listen to others. I'm far from perfect and my dominant nature sometimes stops me from listening.

I know I have this fallacy of trying to bring my argument and opinion over. Even if I don't have all the details and that I might be wrong, I still try to push my views.

In most debates no side has all data, which leads to a lot of outcome possibilities.

Like said, in the past years, I've realized that I don't hold the whole truth and that my view of the world can be different, if looked from a different angle.

I've started discussing with people who had different views than mine, just to understand their position and reasoning. Sometimes it opened new horizons, sometimes it did only cement my believes.

I've learned that online arguments are futile. People use them, to manifest their big ego which lies under a weak personality.

Connecting to people and genuine listen to them, brought me the most forward. When I did try to help them, on things where they indirectly asked for help, even better.

So,in an argument, let the other person talk, listen to it, analyse your ideas and agree if you made a mistake or let it go. It is pointless to impose your thinking on someone that doesn't want to.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency