Weekly Zekely - In a Snow Globe


zekely (1).jpg

11 days since the last not so weekly Zekely. Plenty of days to look back on for highlights captured on my phone during a week's worth of adventure.

This week, we have settled into a winter deep freeze but that won't slow me down!


Snow Globe


snowhall.jpg

Less than 2 weeks ago, I was calling on the fates to finally deliver some wintery weather and they answered loudly. A nice snow storm and average temperatures falling off to around -8 for the last week straight. It is -16 right now. Servers me right for enjoying snowy pictures on many other friend's posts as now I have plenty of my own. I do love the energy that happens when some people stay away and the locals come out to play in a sleepy town in the winter.

monohall.jpg

Funny how a monomad shot the same day from back across the street looks like something out of the history books! The models of the cars always give it away.

IMG_0295 (1).jpg

Wanna know who doesn't give a shit how cold it is? This guy! Minus double digits all week with solid winds making it feel like -20 and he doesn't slow down a bit. He is running everywhere, digging in the snow and only slows to chew the snowballs out from between his toes. No hibernating for this little fella.

image.png

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu


IMG_0320.JPG

After a solid year off training, I am back on the mats for about a week now. So much goes through your head when returning after such a long break as I felt out of shape, soft, and a head full of forgotten techniques coupled with a small gas tank. Still, a bad day training is better than a good day not training so I am ready for the grind again.

IMG_0235 (1).JPG

One huge event was one of our training partners getting his black belt. This is the first black belt awarded at our academy which just celebrated its 10-year anniversary so you might be able to understand how few BJJ black belts there are and how long it takes. It is said only 10% of people who train ever earn a blue belt. Of them, 1% will earn their black belt. If that math is correct, Greg is 1 in 1000 so you can imagine how proud we are all of him. Plus he is scary as hell.

image.png


IMG_0286.JPG

Before the freeze and snow, I managed to snap a cool picture of the interactive art exhibit in the square. Funny how I see reflections where I didn't before because of the #reflectionhunters group here.


IMG_0266 (1).JPG

As part of the same Lights On festival meant to liven up the slower months, I had the chance to join my friends who were invited to DJ the silent disco. Slap on some headphones and dance to 1 of 2 sets being spun by different DJs simultaneously. I have heard how neat they are but this is my first one. You can see my buddy D MCing in the tie-die shirt and waving to the rest of the world. Amazing fun especially for a free event.

image.png

Work


IMG_0215 (1).JPG

It was not all fun and games as there is always work to do to maintain a lifestyle! Much of it doesn't make for exciting photos so it doesn't always always play a big part in the Zekely. This partner of our business @town-crier / https://www.towncriermarketing.ca runs a local newspaper. Every 2 weeks, I load up a car and help deliver some of those papers and promote their business online. You can see how many thousands have to go out every couple weeks but delivering the real local news is rewarding.

image.png

Foodie Time!


IMG_0324.JPG

I love how there impossibly too many nice restaurants for a town this size. 1.7 Million visitors come here every year and there is a chef school of some repute right on main street so we are a little spoiled. In the winter, they exist only on local business and are less crowded so it is an excellent time of year to enjoy them. This delectable appetizer offering is from Raja Fine Indian Cuisine and include iconic samosas and bhajis which are delicious fritters. Delicious enough on their own but even better with those sauces!

IMG_0263.JPG

I was also able to visit one of our newer restaurants The Starlight for a snack and a drink with friends. This dish is Arancini which is "Arborio Rice Croquettes, Parmigiano, Mozzarella, Tomato Sauce" and is damn tasty. I have a few shots I will assemble into a restaurant review to share when I have the time.

image.png

Beer


IMG_0335.JPG

Of COURSE there has to be beer. #Beersaturday is one of my staples and I strive to find the newest, weirdest and most delicious beers in the region. I may highlight this one tomorrow as it was just what the doctor ordered as an evening reward. Besides, I do have a lofty designation to uphold!

blockchainbeerologist1.png


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg



image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



What was the highlight of your week?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency