Starting My Steem Monsters Adventure! ⚔


It's time to join all my Steemian friends on our quest to.. find out wtf is Steemmonsters!?

The Steemiverse seems to be made of two types of people, those who play @Steemmonsters and those who don't. PALs have been calling me to join this game for months so today I decided to finally armor up and jump in!

We've been talking about gaming a lot recently this may even be the perfect basis for a fun competition? I'm not sure if Steemmonsters will be the spark of our prophesied mass adoption? But having a fun trading card game (TCG) based on Steem is certainly a strong weapon in our armory.


This is great for on boarding new users to the Steem blockchain!

First step I felt ancient since I haven't even been aware of any TCG since it was all about Pokémon and Yu-Gi-Oh! Even then it's been so many years since I was playing actual physical superhero top trump cards (damn that guy ruined that word for me) and trading NBA sports cards at school.

Today it's all about "digital cards" and I'm sure most big kids like me are not sure how they feel about playing with no deck or holding them in our hands. So hopefully this post helps explain the basics to start playing. I don't consider myself a TCG gamer, I play a few PS4 games and vaguely heard about Hearthstone, that's about it.

So let's get to it shall we? Where do we even start on this..


First we go and log in using our Steem username and posting key..

Next port of call is join the discord, that's pretty standard these days isn't it? I just asked for help in there and moments later boom, amazing friendly assistance. Perfect.

Once you're logged in you will see BATTLE! in the top menu, click there and under the "next conflict" banner you will see a "How To Play" button where you'll be able to read all the information I'm attempting to break down below..


See right here on the Battle! page is the how to play guide on the right..

Remember I'm not talking to those of you who already know how to play TCG and are familiar with terms like "turn-based combat". This is billy basic and I'm covering first timer things and as we see here's the first section about types of cards..


First we have an explanation of the two types of cards..

Basically the summoner card is what denotes the group or "Splinter" that your team will battle from. What I can gather, summoners add "abilities" to your Monsters. Monsters are simply your Monster cards, see super simple. They are what we see playing on the battle field and we'll get into them specifically in a moment.

Don't worry if you're feeling totally lost at this point, I did too. Let's just keep strolling into the unknown as excited new recruits. So next is Splinters, what the heck is that..


Ok the Splinterlands is the name of the world we're all battling in..

So we will only be able to create teams from monsters in the same "Splinter" group. Ok got it right? It's the teams, we're gonna get random cards in our card packs and they'll all belong to different teams. Let's take a look at what's on our monster cards next.


First look seems complicated though on closer inspection it's not so different..

Just like the old trumps we played with back in the day, just with a different layout now. The different attributes are explained really thoroughly in the official guide.

My simplified version is this: We have a set amount of Mana to create pick our teams, each card requires mana to be played each match. The stats are the values we're be attempting to win with and the rest seems pretty self explanatory right?


Phew so much reading! Instructions are always boring, let's take a break from learning stuff..

So apparently there's also a lot more to read about abilities and such. If you're anything like me, you skimmed all that and will check back later. (Once we start losing and really need help LOL!) So let's buy some cards and get fighting already! How do we start..


$10 bucks seems fair enough.. look at all those payment options. New Steemians coming!

I opted to pay with SBD and it was super simple via Steem-connect, just have entered my active key. This is it and I'm bursting with nostalgia. Memories of crinkling foil, frantically chewing the dusty stick of gum and examining my glorious new cards LOL!


Let's Gooooo!! Look how long this effin post is already ughh..

Lol so I don't know if I should share what cards I got in my deck or not yet, perhaps some geek will be able to exploit a weakness in my hand? So let's shiftily move on to the next step asap..


Starter set. Check. Review rules. Check. Formulate strategy? Oh yeah damn it ok..

Now we have to pick our team, while admiring how cool the art work is don't forget all you've learned in the guide! It's cool seeing how these cards evolved from some radnom Steemians chatting in MSP to an actual working game.


Ok set my first team and it's time, searching for a match..

You can choose to battle in practice mode or ranked mode. I played a dozen practice battle because ranked wasn't "available". So I asked in the discord, all I had to do was log out and back in to start playing in ranked battles!


Yes I'm ready.. let's gooooo muddaphakkas!!

Have fun and see you on the battlefields! Oh and there's also a sharing incentive, grab your affiliate code in the top right corner and share that thing far and wide! You will be rewarded with 5% of lifetime purchases of all your referrals. That's free Steem baby! 💰

I'm already imagining this game going viral and someday turning it into a massive online "final fantasy" style open world RPG! Then we can all battle and earn while actually making Steem simply by playing and trading cards! 🎮

See you tomorrow!

Keni 😄



SMG is a mutual support and co-curation group. Join our discord here.

Recent posts from our comment-chain:

We all know this: Because you live in a certain place and call it home, it makes you looks differently at your city. You don't see it as a place of beauty anymore, you think of it more in a convenient kind of way. I was writing about this already earlier this week when I was passing the Museggmauer here in Lucerne.. @karinxxl

Today I am going to show you some of the products I bought for decoration. Why? Because it's festival season here in India. Diwali is one of my favorite festival because it brings lots of colors, lights and happiness.. @sugandhaseth

I got a little excited with my new coloured pencils! So here is a portrait of Min Yoongi. It didn't turn out how I wanted it to, but I'm satisfied. 😊❤ @nabithecat

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency