Gaia's Blood

There have been a few times when I’ve mentioned my love for the Blob and similar monsters such as the one from the Raft segment in Creepshow 2. Then there is the series The Pirates of Dark Water which I plan on picking up on DVD at some point. A colorful cartoon but with some dark subject matters. I forget if I brought up the term living ooze to describe the Blob and how I took that term from a mail in game manual called Frightmares, I think (I was in the 7th grade at the time and I had been part of this play by mail wrestling league and they added a survival horror game. I missed the mail in date because I had to visit my dad after Christmas and never got around to playing it because I was kicked out of everything.) I’ve been bouncing around the idea of a series about living ooze in my head because I feel zombies have run their course. Now over the past 5 months the death scenes from the Raft have been playing my mind, especially the second to last kill. The fear in her eyes looked real. It wasn’t just fear but hurt and disappointment because her friend was going to leave her to die. The other image that sticks with me is how her skeleton covered with that black slime briefly rises out of the lake. I’ve scrapped my original idea of it starting out as a small brain parasite instead of something more like the entity from the Pirates of Dark Water.

The name I’ve decided to go with is Gaia’s Blood. I thought I was going to go with something like Dark Water but when I was listening to some O&A clips on YouTube which took place during the BP oil spill a caller mentioned water turning to blood out of Revelations. Instead of white blood cells it has Gaia’s Blood. It’ll start in the oceans but it’ll move to any body of water. The main character will be a pro wrestler working the indies but worked for the big one too. At one of his autograph signings he meets one of his biggest fans who happens to be the son of his childhood crush. When the boy goes missing the mom turns to him to spread the word which leads to a video where the kid is consumed by Gaia’s Blood.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now