Starting the New Herb Garden - June 18, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

4th Fence - peony flower crop June 2021.jpg


4th Fence garden – the only peony flower

New Herb - Row 1 started crop June 2021.jpg

On Friday morning I was out by 6AM to start cleaning out the New Herb garden. I decided to start at Row 1, even though Rows 4 - 7 are worse. I had 2 hours before my helper friend arrived that I could work.

New Herb - Row 1, wormwood crop June 2021.jpg

The first thing was to contain the wormwood, left, and tansy in Row 2 on the right. Then I got the walkway cleaned out and moved to the next section.

New Herb - Row 1, woad flowers crop May 2021.jpg

This is the woad in May. It was bent on world domination back then. All the flowers had gone to seed and fallen down. It had spread from its bed on the right into the next bed on the left.

New Herb - Row 1, woad crop June 2021.jpg

There were more of new plants on the left, so I left them after cutting off the seed heads and took out the ones on the right.

New Herb - Row 1, astragalus crop June 2021.jpg

I work both sides of a row as I go but besides tansy, not much was in Row 2. I made it to the astragalus and that was doing pretty well considering the weed load.

New Herb - Row 3, Canterbury Bells crop June 2021.jpg


Row 3, Canterbury bells

My helper friend arrived and so that’s as far as I got. We brought up a truckload of hay and he fed the seedlings and did the milk spray for the powdery mildew.

I went inside to work on pantries all day.

David's ashes - the boat crop June 2021.jpg

The ashes spreading trip went very well. This is the boat they went on. There were about 14 people.

David's ashes - story station crop June 2021.jpg

Tom had set up the slide show on his laptop, along with music that played on the boat’s speakers. This was the story station where people could comment or write stories about him.

These are all the photos I’ve gotten so far. There’s a video of the day also. But Tom is still camping, so that will not be available until he gets home later next week.

Saturday I hope to finish the mulching in the Small garden, unload the rest of the mulch into the Small garden, and get some more done in the New Herb garden. The heat has returned so I am limited on how long I can be outside.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency