Seedling Progress - May 7, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Seedlings - musclun, cosmos, sunflowers balsam, calendula crop May 2021.jpg


Seedlings – bottom, l – r: musclun, cosmos, sunflowers, balsam
Top: calendula

Friday was not terribly productive. My helper friend arrived an hour early and I wasn’t ready for him. We got the seedlings fed for the first time. I got the ones that are up thinned and made notes on the progress of all of them.

Tonka garage - amendments crop May 2021.jpg

Then we headed out and got the Tonka garage cleaned out and inventoried the amendments finally. Now I will know what I have and what I need to order. This is usually done in January…

Fence work started crop May 2021.jpg

When Tom brought my intern he decided to stay and do some fence work. We need to get the fences, at least the wire and downed trees, up out of the pastures so I can get a hayman in the mow them. He got the front and along the driveway done.

He will tackle along the swamp next. It’s far harder and will require cutting blades and a chainsaw, I think.

New Herb echinacea crop1 May 2021.jpg

I finally got out to move some plants and in order to see if I needed any echinacea purpurea in the New Herb garden, I had to take huge mounds of chickweed out of the bed. Just from this section of bed I got a mound 2’ high and 2½’ in diameter. I sent it home with Tom for the chickens.

New Herb - Row 7, echinacea crop May 2021.jpg

It turned out I did need 1 plant here, as the one on far right is looking sad. So I put one right next to it. That left one more in the Big garden and a friend came and got that, and took some of the white iris too.

I cleaned up and called it a day.

Saturday my intern and I go to 2 plants sales. It’s not going to rain, so that will be nice.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency