This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Pretty Sunday - September 17, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

Color in 3 gardens crop Sept. 2023.jpg

On Sunday morning I didn’t get a lot done until I went out at 10AM to finish the mowing. It was a beautiful cool day, very autumn like even though the Equinox isn’t until the 23rd.

I got this shot of the color in 3 gardens. First the New England asters in the 1st Fence garden, then the yellow of the tansy buttons in Row 2 of the New Herb garden, and finally the volunteer New England asters in the wildflowers.

Hayman's tractor crop Sept. 2023.jpg

My brother had gone out ahead of me to get the weedwacking done and he said the hayman had gone out back with a brushhog. When I got up to the barn to get the mowers I found his tractor and no hayman. He’d made a single pass around the outside of the back 40.

My brother finished around the 2 front pastures and along the driveway and left to go for a long ride up north in his vintage Mustang.

Crisp morning crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I got the mowers and went up to the house to finish the trim work and when I got back to the barn, the hayman was there with a truck and trailer. He thought he’d hit something metal and a back tire had gone flat. We looked for a while to see if there was something but couldn’t find anything. We’d always been very careful about trash in the pastures from when we had horses.

He said he’d be back on Tuesday to round bale all the pastures. He’d originally said he’d be back in October, but the corn he was supposed to be chopping in September wasn’t ready yet, so he was doing the haying early.

Sun on pasture grass2 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I finished at the house and got started at the barn. It took 2.5 hours to get it done, finishing at 12:30PM. That left about an hour and a half to rest and get cleaned up and eat lunch.

New South - cosmos flower crop Sept. 2023.jpg

In the New South garden, we are able to see the volunteer cosmos flowers now it is weeded.

Larry in sun2 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I rested in my chair and Larry stayed on the floor in the sun. Then I got a shower and went off to the last concert in Old Deerfield with my friend.

Larry in sun3 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

It was 2 women originally from Taiwan playing 4 hand piano. It was also held in a different venue, the Old Brick Church. It has the old box pews and my friend and I don’t remember them being so very uncomfortable when we’d been to concerts pre-pandemic.

But we survived them and enjoyed the music. When we got back to the house, I picked her a big handful of lacinato kale, one of her favorites. I watched a movie and was in bed by 8PM.

It’s to rain all day and be cool, only mid 60’s, on Monday and I should finish last month’s budget/bills and get laundry done. I haven’t decided what I am going to do about making spaghetti sauce on Tuesday…