Our Day - September 12, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Color on Barton Road crop Sept. 2020.jpg
Touches of autumn color

On Saturday once we’d sent the chickens off to their new home, we headed out. He’d pickup up the local newspaper to see what was listed for tag sales and I’d checked the FB page for any. So we had a list of 9 to check out.

We stopped at several, but not all. One was particularly nice and I got a few things, but that’s a separate post.

Then we took the old Route 5 into Vermont and on into Brattleboro. There wasn’t much more color up there than we’d seen back in Mass.

Top of the Hill sign crop Sept. 2020.jpg

He’d looked online for a place to stop for lunch and found this nice BBQ grill. It had a wonderful menu! I got a smoked turkey Rueben sandwich and he got a pulled pork sandwich and we shared a bowl of wonderful coleslaw.

TOH view1 crop Sept. 2020.jpg

The porch seating was built above a bit of a gorge and was a nice lookout.

TOH view2 crop Sept. 2020.jpg

Even though it was on the main drag through Brattleboro the seating area was serene. And the food was wonderful! A nearby family had a 5 year old rescue cattle dog/Labrador cross named MJ. My husband enjoyed patting her.

We went up through Brattleboro then picked up Rt. 91 to Ludlow. From there we headed for our destination: The Vermont Country Store. I’d been there once before, years back. It’s fun to wander through and see the old items on display and the new things you remember from decades back. I got a Christmas present, a rawhide lace to repair my garden hat and a jar of pumpkin butter.

Then we headed south again, this time taking back roads. These lead us to some wonderful tag sales. You can see what we found in the next post.

When we got to the outskirts of Brattleboro we took Rt. 91 through the town. Then we picked up a back road and rode south and into Leyden, Mass. We again picked up Rt 91 and went to a town south of our farm to pickup takeout for supper, a Poke bowl.

We got home, unloaded the car and ate supper. I’d put the bowl and beaters in the freezer when I got home and made the whipped cream for his brownie sundae.

Brownie sundae crop Sept. 2020.jpg

Peach pie a la mode crop Sept. 2020.jpg

I just had my ice cream on my peach pie. They were both wonderful!

I had gone upstairs to check e-mail and heard the familiar whoosh! of a hot air balloon. I looked out the window and there was one over the 10 acre piece farm. I dashed downstairs but by the time I got outside, it had gone down behind the trees and landed in a field across the street. No photos!

So that was the end of our 46th anniversary day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency