Moving Plants - May 6, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

May morning crop May 2021.jpg


Early May morning

I’d planned to get out to the garden to start cleaning out the middle section around 8AM. But then the carpenter and I were trying to work out the clean room, and then I had to tear the kitchen apart. So it was 9:45 when I finally went out.

Big garden - holes1 crop March 2021.jpg

This was the section I would be tackling. We’d already moved the soapwort, bottom left, so I just had the rest to do.

Big garden - half middle cleared crop May 2021.jpg

I got about half of it done before lunch time.

Wildflowers - creeping veronica crop May 2021.jpg

It was during one of those times when you wake up at 3AM and have ideas. I’d finally figured out where to move some of the plants in this section. The wildflower area had many bare spots so I started moving the creeping veronica along my mini “English garden” wall. I’m hoping it drape over the walls some.

Wildflowers - lambs ear crop May 2021.jpg

The lamb’s ear went into 3 gardens and the rest went into the west side of the wildflower area.

New West - lambs ear, tulip crop May 2021.jpg


New West – lamb’s ear and the remaining tulip, in its pot

South - geranium crop May 2021.jpg

There was a small geranium by the tulip area in the Big garden. It got moved to the South garden in the corner.

Wildflowers - star of Bethlehem and creeping veronica crop May 2021.jpg

I took about 5 pots out of the Bulb Area #2 that still had some. Most were star of Bethlehem. I didn’t try to break them apart; I just planted the whole mass from each pot along the wall of the wildflower area.

Wildflowers - lupine crop May 2021.jpg

Last year at this time the wildflower area was a mass of batchelors buttons in bloom. There’s not one I could find this year. But there are 3 growing outside the area, in the New Herb garden’s walkways. But I did find a lot of lupines, some of them large like this one. They are even in the thick grassy area I never weeded out.

New Herb crop May 2021.jpg

Speaking of weeding, I’ve still not touched the New Herb garden and this is what it looks like now.

Big garden - bulb area 2 crop May 2021.jpg

Back in the Big garden, this is what’s left in the Bulb Area #2, giant alliums, and wood hyacinths. I may move them in their pots to gardens for now.

Big garden - middle area to be cleared crop May 2021.jpg

This is what’s left to move from the middle are of the Big garden: white iris, violets, spiderwort, 2 echinacea, and the Small quince. Most don’t have a place to go yet, except the violets.

McIntosh crop May 2021.jpg


McIntosh apple tree in full bloom

McIntosh flowers open crop May 2021.jpg


Apple blossoms

East Shed - fringed tulips open crop May 2021.jpg


East Shed – fringed tulips opened

Old North - flowering crop May 2021.jpg


Old North – full flower

On Friday I hope to tackle the rest of the middle section. I will be by myself as my intern will be wallpapering. Saturday she and I hit 2 plant sales.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency