In the Gardens in the Heat - June 19, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Wildflowers - catchfly and poppy crop June 2021.jpg


Wildflowers – catchfly and a poppy

Small garden - finished crop June 2021.jpg

On Saturday morning the humidity was pretty high but it was cool. I went out at 6AM and finished the mulching in the Small garden and got the truck unloaded.

New Herb - Row 1, mulch1 crop June 2021.jpg

I started mulching around the wormwood and the tansy in Row 2. When I got to the empty bed, I decided it was better to get things into the ground as I went. Plus I had forgotten to put amendment down, so I got that and did it.

New Herb - Row 1, honesty and marigolds planted crop2 June 2021.jpg

I’d planned 2 honesty and 2 marigolds in this empty bed, so I got them planted and resumed mulching.

New Herb - Row 1, mulch2 crop June 2021.jpg

I made it down to the astragalus on Row 1. There’s supposed to be chamomile in the empty bed next to the tansy in Row 2. I thought I’d get that planted. I checked the map for where borage was. I’d forgotten it.

New Herb - Row 6, borage crop June 2021.jpg

The only empty place was where the hoophouse would be. There’s no ginger or turmeric this year so no hoophouse. I set about clearing the end of Row 6 and transplanting the borage. It hates transplanted and I don’t know if it will take. I mulched it well.

New North - feverfew crop June 2021.jpg


New North - feverfew

By 8AM the humidity was through the roof and the sun was full on the New Herb garden. Once the borage was mulched, I’d had enough. The humidity was wiping me out.

So I cleaned up and went inside where it was cooler. I’d thought I’d work on the New Pantry.

West - perennial foxglove flowers crop June 2021.jpg


West – lamb’s ear and perennial foxglove

But I soon discovered the humidity had taken a greater toll than I realized and I decided to go to bed and sleep for a while. So I went to bed. The cat decided sleep was not happening. Finally she quit, and I slept for about an hour, getting up around 12:30.

South Herb - hollyhock flower crop June 2021.jpg


South Herb - hollyhock

I just read, found a marble shelf for the pantry, and was very low energy all day. I think it was mostly the fallout from the ashes trip on Friday.

Around 5:30 I started to feel better and worked on paper figuring out where I’d put things in the various cabinets and shelves of the clean room and pantry.

Just after 6PM, unusual for me, I decided to move the dishes back into the small white cabinet. When I went to wash it out, I discovered the shelving that had rested on it in the old pantry had actually kept it from falling over when the doors were opened.

I found where the studs were and called the carpenter to see if he’d put screws in to keep it from falling over. He lives 2 minutes away and said he’d zip over with his screwgun and put in four 3” screws. But by the time it was done, I’d lost the energy and went to bed just after 7PM.

West Herb - catmint crop June 2021.jpg


West Herb - catmint

On Sunday I hope to get the chamomile planted and mulched, and get some more cleaning out done along the first 2 rows. Once it gets hot, I hope to move those dishes.

But it is the Solstice, Father’s Day, and I’m not doing so good, so we will see….

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency