Haying, Clean-Up, and a Full Harvest Moon - September 19, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Hay - baling crop Sept. 2021.jpg

The hayman was out by 10AM on Sunday and started baling. They got 5 bales off the front pasture.

Hay - wrapper arrives crop Sept. 2021.jpg

The wrapper tractor showed up a little later. They got 5 bales off the middle pasture too, even though we’d mowed a swath.

Hay count - 5, 5 E - W crop Sept. 2021.jpg

They got 20 bales off the back 40, for a total of 30 bales. I’d asked them about bale sizes. The first cutting done in May, the bales were about 1500 lbs apiece. These bales they made bigger, they were about 1800 lbs apiece.

They’d gotten 24 bales for 1st cutting, totaling 36,000 lbs. This cutting totaled 54,000 lbs. That made 90,000 taken off the fields this year. I hate that all that is leaving the farm instead of feeding my animals. But I must maintain the fields until animals can come back.

I plan to ask if 3 of the bales from the front pasture 1st cutting can be left here, for me to use as mulch. I won’t be able to move them, so I’m going to ask them to put them over by the hay stack. I will have to cut pieces off them and move it to the house as needed. It will be a pain, but it will be mulch from our fields.

Vinegar in pantry crop Sept. 2021.jpg

I found a tote and put the vinegar bottles in the pantry where it is cool. They will be there about 6 weeks until the cider turns to vinegar.

I got the floors swept and washed, and then I washed down the table and chairs. Later I put stuff away and washed the counters down. I got too tired and slept off and on until 6PM.

Harvest moon1 crop Sept. 2021.jpg

When I went out to do the cats’ food, I took the picker back to the neighbor. On the way home the Harvest Full Moon was coming up.

Harvest moon2 crop Sept. 2021.jpg

On Monday I will get the carpenter to help me get the press back to the barn and wrapped up well again. We also have those 3 totes to dump. I’ve still got clean up to finish and laundry to do. I’m also supposed to pick the last of the green beans and get them into the freezer.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency