Haydn Pearson’s Rhubarb Pudding - May 11, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Rhubarb - harvested crop May 2021.jpg

It all started when I went to take a photo of the huge rhubarb and found the flowerbuds on it. When I pulled them off, some stalks came. So I pulled enough to make rhubarb sauce.

Rhubarb pudding - strawberries crop May 2021.jpg

By the time I got them in the house I’d decided to use up frozen strawberries and make strawberry-rhubarb sauce.

Rhubarb pudding - cutting rhubarb crop May 2021.jpg

When I started cutting them up in 1” pieces, I decided to make rhubarb pudding. So I got Hayden Pearson’s Country Flavor cookbook out and set about making his recipe.

Rhubarb pudding - making batter crop May 2021.jpg

Once the rhubarb and strawberries were cooking on the stovetop, I started the batter. I don’t do wheat so I used millet flour. I don’t do milk, but do use raw cream so I made a mix of cream and coconut milk. I used our own homemade butter.

Rhubarb pudding - strawberry rhubarb sauce crop May 2021.jpg

Once the sauce was done, I put it in a casserole.

Rhubarb pudding - ready to bake crop May 2021.jpg

Then I put the batter around the top. I put it in the oven and realized two things: 1. I’d forgotten to put sugar in the sauce. 2. I’d forgotten to put the cinnamon and allspice on top.

So I pulled it out, sprinkled about ½ cup of sugar around the edges of the batter, and put the cinnamon and allspice on the batter. Back in it went for about 40 minutes.

Rhubarb pudding - finished crop May 2021.jpg

It turned out beautifully.

Rhubarb pudding - recipe crop May 2021.jpg

Here’s the recipe. I don’t use as much sugar as he calls for in his recipes. He also didn’t call for allspice but I like it so I sprinkled about ⅛ teaspoon on. I used about ⅔ of a quart of frozen whole strawberries in the sauce.

Rhubarb pudding crop May 2021.jpg

I like it hot with cream. Yum!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency