This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Flowerbeds - September 15, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

Middle pasture at sunrise crop Sept. 2023.jpg

On Friday morning the golden color from the dawn highlighted the seed heads in the middle pasture so everything had the golden glow. It was to be a cloudy cool day.

My helper friend arrived at 8AM and we headed out to clean out flowerbeds. He went around the house to finish the New East garden he’d started on Thursday.

New West - cleaned out crop Sept. 2023.jpg

After cutting down all the dead hollyhock stems, I got started on the New West garden. The crabgrass was about 8” deep in this bed. I was delighted to find that 10 of the perennials had survived and were doing fine.

New West - planted crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I planted a petunia, begonias, portulacas, and English wallflowers in this bed. If we don’t get a frost until mid October, I will have flowers for a little while, I hope.

East of Steps - cleaned out crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Next I finished cleaning out the East of Steps garden and planted some begonias and portulacas and lobelia.

Back Porch garden weeded crop Sept. 2023.jpg

My helper friend got this little garden cleaned out by the back porch.

New South - weeded2 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Then he started at this end of the New South garden and worked his way towards me.

New South - weeded1 crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Once he’d made it to this end, I got some English wallflowers, verbascum, balsam, hollyhocks, and 3 tiny columbines and planted them. He just cleans out the plants he knows are weeds. I will have to go back through and do a more thorough cleaning later, if I get a chance. Last, I filled in the corner where the water from the downspout had washed it away.

West of Steps - weeded crop Sept. 2023.jpg

He came around and started on the West of Steps garden. It had thyme and violets in it that had to come out.

I planted a begonia. In front was a portulaca, and in the middle a dianthus.

Planting along walkway crop Sept. 2023.jpg

I had found the thyme and violets in the New West garden also, so my helper friend went and got a load of loam from the pile by the woodshed and he planted the thyme and violets along the walkway. I put stakes and string up to protect them from walking and mowing. I hope they take.

South - weeded crop Sept. 2023.jpg

The South garden had been done a couple times over the summer so he just got the violets out and I planted 3 small hollyhocks and 3 begonias.

Fence gardens - tall stuff out crop Sept. 2023jpg.jpg

He moved onto the Fence gardens and pulled out all the tall weeds that had gone to seed, all the way to the 7th garden at the end.

First Fence - pink NE asters crop Sept. 2023.jpg

In the 1st and 4th Fence gardens the New England asters are pink.

Third Fence - purple NE asters crop Sept. 2023.jpg

In the 3rd Fence garden they are purple. Some years I get a light blue.

Kousa - fruit crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Kousa dogwood fruit

Old North - squash plant crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Old North garden - volunteer squash

Little trees - 13. Sugar maple crop Sept. 2023.jpg

As I came around the house with a sled of weeds, I had plenty of room left in it so I weeded the mulch around the little sugar maple.

Small garden and middle pasture crop Sept. 2023.jpg

Small garden at dawn

I was exhausted at 11:30 when he had to leave. I went to bed and slept for 4 hours. My back was still in good shape after all that. I was careful to not do things to aggravate it.

On Saturday my neighbor and I are going on the riverboat again, this time with the lecturer Richard Little. He will speak about the geology that created the river.