Family Photos and Basil - September 1, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Basil for dehydrator crop Sept. 2021.jpg

On Tuesday, I didn’t accomplish much. I didn’t work in the gardens. I spent the morning on the phone, trying to find out how many people who had not RSVP’d were coming. We made a big jump, up to 61 now. It’s to be a nice day on Sunday so I will be able to make additional seating areas around the yard.

Got some bad news though. The plumbers were all exposed to covid and are in quarantine. The excavator guy was just diagnosed with melanoma and nodules in his lung. So they aren’t coming.

On Wednesday, I did get the living room and dining room floors washed. But I wasn’t having a good day. I finally decided I’d harvest basil for the dehydrators and sit and do that.

Picture wall done crop September 2021.jpg

My intern was coming and the plan was to get the family photos hung up. When she got here, we got started. Putting up those small silhouettes was a pain! They’ve never wanted to hang straight. I’d gotten glue dots to fix that. So they are on the wall, as best as we could do it.

We rearranged the photos from the last time the pictures were here. They don’t look very straight in this shot, but that’s the camera leaning things. They are actually pretty good.

While we were doing this, I had 2 helpers cleaning the dining room and the kitchen glass front cabinets. It’s so nice to have everything clean for a change!

One of them is coming back on Thursday to do bathrooms and halls. She will be back on Friday to do a scouring of stairwells and floors. The old cat has apparently become incontinent (such timing!) and the house smells of cat. I can’t find the spots, they must just be leaks, but peee-yewww! So we’re hoping to reduce the problem.

I can’t believe it’s now September. This week would have been devoted to getting ready for our annual chicken processing day on Labor Day weekend. We would have been culling chickens, straightening up the grounds and I would have been scouring the butchershop and cold room for use. I’d have inventoried the freezers to see what we would need for chicken for the next year. Making sure I had enough supplies and planning a potluck lunch.

Maybe next year….

The current hurricane is to hit Wednesday night and blow away during Thursday. I hope we get sun or wind to dry out the pasture. I didn’t get to mow up the cuttings as the rain started at 7:30 on Wednesday morning. It’s gonna be a mess if it doesn’t dry, as I have to bag it up. The tent goes up on Saturday.

No idea what I am doing on Thursday, hopefully I’ll find some gumption to do something like organize the clean room. I need to get the stuff out of the kitchen.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency