Around the Gardens - September 10, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Squash for freezer crop Sept. 2021.jpg

The job for Friday was to finish the squash. It’s much harder to do when it is cold, but I managed to fill 4 more quarts with the Sweet Meat for puddings, and 2½ pints of the kabocha and acorn squashes.

I’d just finished and gotten the mess cleaned up when my husband’s cousin and his wife from South Carolina stopped in to visit and see the house. They hadn’t been here since 2015, so there were a LOT of changes.

Mid afternoon I finally made the beef stew and had that for supper.

Apple collection crop Sept. 2021.jpg

In the evening when I went to do the cats at the barn, I noticed I’d not picked up apples and one had been eaten. So I got another bucket and picked up all the good ones.

I’m hoping to do the cider pressing on next Saturday. The apples on the tree are mostly red now. So I have to send out invites to the few who indicated they wanted to do it.

Here are photos I took in the afternoon:

1st Fence - N.E. Aster crop Sept. 2021.jpg
1st Fence garden – New England aster

New Herb - Row 3, sunset hyssop, French tarragon, calendula crop Sept. 2021.jpg
New Herb garden – Row 3, Sunset hyssop, French tarragon, calendula

New Herb - Row 5, balsam crop Sept. 2021.jpg
New Herb garden – Row 5, balsam

New Herb crop Sept. 2021.jpg
New Herb garden

Pretty day crop Sept. 2021.jpg
A pretty day

New South crop Sept. 2021.jpg
New South garden

West of Steps - dianthus, portulaca crop Sept. 2021.jpg
West of Steps garden – portulaca front, dianthus back

On Saturday I plan to empty the trash shed and go to the dump. In the afternoon my brother and my intern are coming to take me to the Fair. It would have been our 47th anniversary.

There’s a band I want to see at 4PM, the racing pigs my husband liked at 2:15, hopefully a Ferris wheel to ride, and we will have to see if it’s safe to tour the Roundhouse with the produce and craft exhibits. I hope there’s a nice design on the annual t-shirt as I’d like to get one. It’s supposed to be a beautiful day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency