This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

January Week 4 - Part 2

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken eggs snow

January 25th

farmstead farmsteadsmith freerange chickens

This is one of my favorite sights, I just love seeing my chickens free ranging and happy.

We got ten eggs today! It always makes me a tiny bit disappointed when the count goes down instead of up up up! But good news is, another Cuckoo Marans is laying! They don’t lay super dark, but they’re one of the darker brown colored egg layers that I have. I love the multi colored egg basket I get!

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken easteregger henfarmstead farmsteadsmith chicken eggs

Today’s weather was... interesting. Cloudy in the morning, lots of wind, and snow flurries!! High said 41 with a “real feel” of 23... Yes, with those cold winds, it definitely felt like 23!! Man, I could really use a non windy day to help gain some life-motivation! Hard to be happy to do chores in the wind. It’ll all have to get done tomorrow!

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken hen salmonfaverolles faverolles

Husband was trying to round up some more egg customers at his work today! I guess the people who bought yesterday hadn’t tried their eggs yet. I can’t wait to know if they think all the different color eggs will be cool or not! Haha

Farmstead farmsteadsmith eggs chicken


January 26th

farmstead farmsteadsmith sunset sun sky

Today was a slow egg collecting day and I only got 8! Sigh! Of course that would happen when we start selling eggs. Haha husband has three more people at his work who would like to purchase eggs! The person who bought before wants to buy again and said their kids loved all the different colors of eggs! That’s so cool and I’m glad he shared that bit of information!

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken rooster cockerelfarmstead farmsteadsmith chicken egg welsummer

There was three chickens in one nesting box this morning... I was watching them and I saw something coming out of one hen’s bum, I thought it was a prolapse! My heart jumped and then I realized it was just another chicken’s face! Hahaha

I’m hoping that my Australorp is the only rogue laying hen and that no one else has decided to lay outside of the coop, somewhere random...

farmstead farmsteadsmith kitty cat benjifarmstead farmsteadsmith kitty cat benji

I cleaned the chicken poop deck and the bunny cages today! I was gonna be so more more productive, but it didn’t happen. I’m just glad I got the chickens and bunny cages done. I hate cleaning the rabbit cages. It’s not hard, nor does it take very long but it is definitely something I always put off.


January 27th

farmstead farmsteadsmith kitty benji cat

So regal...

A very EGGCITING egg day today since we got our first two duck eggs!! Yay ducks! This made me like them slightly better. Haha we promptly washed them and fried them up with some bacon. Honestly, I couldn’t tell the difference, so next time we’re gonna fry it up plain, so I can really try it out and taste the flavor!

farmstead farmsteadsmith eggciting duck eggs duckeggs

We got 14 chicken eggs in total but one was laid and broke, so, a baker’s dozen of chicken eggs and two ducks eggs! Yay! It was a fun egg collection day to say the very least! I’m not even sure who is laying for sure but I think at least 15 or 16 of the 18 of age hens are laying for sure, I’m not sure who ISN’T laying! What a wonderful dilemma! I’m gonna have to really look at my eggs tomorrow and investigate. See if I can guess who is laying what!

farmstead farmsteadsmith rooster cockerel chicken

Isn't he like, amazingly beautiful??

Oh yeah we got like an inch or two of snow overnight, but it melted right off and turned out to be a decently weathered day! You wouldn’t know it snowed one bit!

I caught one of the Faverolles yelling her head off in the coop and caught some pics of it! Haha! It’s a lot of work to catch shots like these, haha! I went thru like a bajillion photos! They crack me up anyway.

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken faverollesfarmstead farmsteadsmith chicken faverolles

Husband and I got groceries and he got his hair cut. It was a good day today. You know you’ve got a good one when you have fun grocery shopping with them!! Ha We finished up the taxes and plan on upgrading the coop! I can’t wait to be able to have a bigger coop where I can store the feed and other supplies in it too.

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken faverolles

##January is almost over!


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Please Consider Supporting:

  • @rhondak, she runs a much needed and severely underfunded Dog Rescue in the Appalachian Mountains. She uses the funds she earns on Steemit to save lives.

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

Photos by me using my iPhone 8+, unless stated otherwise!


If you EVER want to get ahold of me for any reason, please join us on our Discord, Homesteaders Online. You can always find me there.

Homesteaders Online


@daddykirbs @allforthegood