DO GOATS REALLY SNACK ON TINS?

Goshna 013.JPG

"Your goats eat better than I do AND get more of your attention! If they don't start to earn their keep, I'm going to eat them" These were the rather unloving words of my husband 8 years ago. Despite giving me a goat as a wedding present, he soon realized that a bunch of flowers probably would've cost less!

Goshna 247.JPG

While I love animals there's no hiding my total obsession with all things goatie. These four legged kids are the best pets IMO. Apart from the fact that they actually return the love, it comes with interest, in the form of their delicious milk. I know - I know. You have probably had that nasty "goatie" experience with milk. But you haven't tasted the milk my goats provide!

IMG_0893.JPG

How the goat and the milk is treated is of vital importance. First rule. DO NOT FEED THEM TINS! Because that would show your ignorance of the tastes of a goat and probably earn you a head butt! Goats need fresh, clean water. Water converts to milk. The milking facilities, and milker need to keep things as hygienic as possible. I use only natural....ummm...everything. So I make my own udder balm and soap, as well as spray solutions. Some of my essentials are essential oils. And hydrogen peroxide to sterilize equipment.

Goshna 140.JPG

And on that natural note. The rubbish fed and injected into goats commercially also plays a role. (Don't get me started on the cruel battery style existence many live) My goats free-roam and when I need to treat them, whether parasites or injuries or ailments, it's all herbal. Another key rule to sweet goats milk is chilling it as quickly as possible after milking.

IMG_3885.JPG

Having the buck free ranging with the girls is not such a good idea (easier said than done). Their o'dour toilet definitely taints the milk. When I drink (other people's) goatie milk all I see is the male pee on himself. Gag.

Goshna 075.JPG

Even if you aren't so big into drinking goat milk the cheeses are amazing. And so is goats milk soap. But those are subjects for another day. For now I need to go and kiss and cuddle the four legged kids. Because, after all, what is life without some goatie love?

Goshna 349.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency