13 January 2019 - Sunday fun on the roof

image

We got a leak that most likely came from around one of the vent pipes.

To work on the pipes close to the high end of the roof I figured safety came first. So I attached a safety line to the chimney (see above) and hooked it to my harness (see below).

image

It was a bit cold, about -5C, but fortunately there was no wind, so overall it was not too bad. However, the roof patch that I had kept warm in the hottest room in the house, the heater enclosure, got rather stiff within about an hour. I would have had to warm it up again if there was more patching to do.

As it was, it went fairly easy - though I was a bit sore from the effort for a few hours afterwards.

image

Low roof on the street side. The entry point.

image

Vent with a suspected leak.

image

Another vent, a sewage one I believe.

image

Chimney. I have decided to patch around them all, just for a good measure.

image

High roof on the backyard side. About 6 m worth of drop.

image

Lots of patch used.

image

Sun setting down soon. Time to clear off the roof. Enough fun for one day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency