INSTALLING THE WATER HEATER AND PLUMBING LINES--FAIL😁(A HOMESTEAD UPDATE)

A LONG WAIT

It was a long process to get the right water heater. First one got lost in transit, and the second one(the one I used) took a few days...but upon it's arrival, I got started installing it and the indoor plumbing.

A QUICK TEST RUN

Before going through the hassle of mounting the water heater on the wall and plumbing it I decided I should make sure that it works where I wanted to put it, because we have a gravity feed system which means a low water pressure system. So on the first night, I hooked everything together with where I wanted the water heater to be and it all worked well.

INSTALLATION

The next night, I worked on installing it as it would be when it was finished. It went pretty well. I got the shut off valve for the main supply and the water pressure gauge install relatively quickly.

KIMG7516.JPG

THE SUPPLY LINES

Moving on down the line, I installed the main trunk and individual branches that would go to things such as the toilet, the kitchen sink, the shower, and the washer.

KIMG7519.JPG


KIMG7536.JPG

THE WATER HEATER

Next it was time to mount the water heater to the wall above the toilet. This also went pretty easily and only involved putting a couple of screws in the wall and hanging a bracket.

KIMG7535.JPG

THE SHOWER

This is the holy Grail of where we want water in the cabin. Everybody enjoys their shower and getting clean at the end of the day. So I installed the shower mixing valve, handles and the shower head.

KIMG7522.JPG

THE FAIL

After everything was hooked up and finalized, I turned the water on with the expectation of employing out of the shower head... This was not the case though. After some thorough thought and long discussions with Evan we ascertained that the root cause was the mixing valves inside of the handles. They had tiny little orifice holes and we believe that it prevented enough water pressure from going through and reaching the shower head. It is one of the few things that changed between my test run and the final installation.

THE SOLUTION

To remedy the situation, we have decided to buy a boost water pressure pump that will take care of the low water pressure problem. We are currently awaiting its arrival and hoping it will be here tomorrow so that way we can get back on the road with finishing up the water heater project.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency