HOMESHOOLING: MY EXPERIENCE IN TEACHING WRITING

How to motivate your kid to study?

It's one of the most popular questions among parents, especially among homeschooling families. There're different approaches and tons of advice How.

But I have my own reply - Nohow:) I mean - no motivation is needed!
Just sincere interest of a kid!

Parents don't need to seek for reasons how to make kids study, they just must make it interesting to them. So easy. But so hard at the same time.

image.png

My experience and my son's example.

I have a homeschooling boy. He is 5,5 and it's high time to study reading and writing.
All parents whom I know pay for tutors and special kids' organizations where they are taught all these things.

Sos, fire, urgently!
Kids must read and write ASAP or... What? Moms won't be able to brag among other moms how clever her kid is?;) here it is exactly to the point.

I don't share this panic. He doesn't want to write at 5, ok, he will write at 6, when he is more ready for it.
When it's time, it will go easier and faster than just making a kid do it without his wish.

Moreover, the way parents and teachers choose are awful.
Just buying a special writing books and making kids write every day. So boring... Omg...

image.png
in the last line we see how tired from this boredom my boy was;))

I had to try this way to be sure it's a fail. I tried. My son wrote some pages in such a manner, and he hated doing it. I stopped it at once. Boring methods aren't our way.

I started thinking how to make it more adventurous...

And BINGO!
My boy was watching a cartoon about pirates and treasures. And after it he asked me to play a pirate game with him.

Ok! But pirates need a map to seek for treasures at a lost island. And I proposed him to create this map.

All pirates need a map, are you a real pirate, right? But to make the map clear you must write definite main points of pirates' ship stops.

And my boy was so excited! His eyes were full of interest and desire, and without any arguing he started writing letters! And I was surprised that he remembered almost all of them without my help, though we even didn't finish that exercise book with letters.

image.png
We even added a sword, a compass and beads (trerasure) to make our game more real;)

He wrote: Start, Island, Volcano, Forest, Сave, drew his ways to treasures and sticked some pictures to the main points:) Though as a rule he doesn't like not only writing, but even drawing.

When he was interested, all his abilities and memory activated and he wrote words by himself, I only needed to spell it slowly for him to let him hear all letters distinctly.

image.png

He was so happy he had a real map, and I was happy we found a great way to practice writing - an amazing game where a kid will want to write them by himself!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now