Playtime - Preserving the Innocence of a Child

3ED80E6B-7E03-4614-86D0-B99A01FA3C75.jpeg

One thing I’ve always stayed firm on is keeping my children young minded and protecting their innocence while it’s in our power to.

I’ve seen so many little girls (from this generation and the next) loose their innocence in a sense of trying to be grownups before their time.

From the things they participate in, what they wear, how they even dance and what’s mostly sad is what their parents allow them to do.

I am raising my own five children. Just as I have a right to raise them how I see best, so does the next parent. I’ve learned how to gently ask questions to make someone think about their choices instead of just barging in with

I think you should do this. Why would you let her do that? If that were my child...

I remember growing up and our neighbors used to tell our parents when we were getting into trouble or doing something we knew was wrong. That was a time when people weren’t afraid to speak up and help each other raise their children. The parents receiving the information were very appreciative and they proceeded to deal with their children as needed.

Nowadays if you speak up or tell a parent something about their child they may not like to hear, you most likely will get a different (more negative) reaction.

We are living in a different time where things that once were safe to do are no longer that way. There are too many upsetting things happening to children and we as parents have to do our best to keep them safe.

One of those things I think is helping is keeping my little girls in check with their age. We teach them how to dress appropriately, not revealing their personal areas because this could entice predators to make a move and try to take or harm our little girls.

EB59FCB6-12C4-4CD1-8B94-DADE27BBE1BC.jpeg

Any type of dress up or playtime my girls do stays in the home. When they want to do each other’s nails or wear mommy’s clothes and high heels they know this is a specific allotted time given to them throughout our homeschooling day. It’s a great way for them to take a break and just use their imagination.

It’s funny because my 11 year old loves to dress up my 2 year old. This is what you see from the photos. Vice versa my 11 year old let’s her little sister dress her up as well. They treat each other as little dress up dolls and it is really sweet to see.

My 11 year old had a birthday sleepover party and wanted to get some cheap press on nails to have fun with her friends. When she realized she had some leftover she asked if she could put them on her sister during their play/dress up time. My 2 year old was thrilled as you can see her showing off her play nails...

30A4B72B-3D3A-4817-9342-E6FA475C2AB7.jpeg

She even showed us she could hold the cell phone like mommy (cover pic).

What was really refreshing about this day was watching her try to play with the nails on. She kept trying to pick up things, turn knobs and even adjust her clothing. Each time she tried she had a difficult time and just ended up sitting down looking pretty. 😄

Within 30 minutes we found the nails on the floor and she was back in her room playing as usual. 😂

The innocence! ☺️

She said

you can keep those nails I’m going back to doing what I do best...being a playful 2 year old.

I love that my girls can have fun and play dress up safely in their own home knowing it is considered playtime and they are not allowed to wear some of the things they dress up in outside of our home.

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.


Thanks for Reading ❤️ ~
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency