5 Watts WSPR-2 transmissions on 21 MHz with an indoor mobile antenna (2022.03.19)

I rarely post about it, but a few of you probably already know that I am a licensed radioamateur. Nowadays I rarely turn on my radioamateur transceiver (Yaesu FT-450D), because it consumes a lot of electricity, even on receiving. Today I transmitted two times with it in the WSPR-2 mode on 21 MHz using the WSPR Tx Android application on my smartphone (Samsung Galaxy A12).

I received nine spots.

My equipment:
Radio: Yaesu FT-450D.
Antenna: D-Original Outback-1899 mobile antenna, directly connected to the transceiver in the room of my current rent.
TX Power (during these two transmissons): 5 Watts.

The 0.01 Watt report on my first transmission is a bug of the WSPR Tx Android application. The lowest transmitting power is 5 Watts with my transceiver, so it is not possible to transmit with 0.01 Watt with it.

I reached five countries with these two transmissions:
Iceland, England, USA, Ireland, and Scotland.

The lowest covered distance is 1942 km (Scotland).
The highest covered distance is 7151 km (USA).

Not bad for an indoor mobile antenna.

img_0.8379647023670492.jpg

The reached stations on the map:

img_0.6821374914162055.jpg

The WSPR is an opensource project, but you need to have a valid radioamateur license for transmitting. Anyone can receive. Well. Almost. Anyone with a PC/laptop, with a radio and with an antenna. Nowadays I do not have a PC/laptop, so I cannot try the receiving on WSPR-2.

More information (including the database and the above mentioned map) about the WSPR project can be found on the official website of this project: http://www.wsprnet.org.

Thank you for reading/viewing.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency