Putting a big red X in January. Welcome February.

Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

I set a lot of goals for 2023 and I made a good start in January, although not as much progress as I would have liked. Overall, I have to say I'm thankful January is in the rearview.

I used to look forward to January. There always seemed to be an air of transition to January. Circumstances over the last several years have changed my views on January.

I had breakfast with my dad this morning and remarked that it was February 1 and I was glad January was over. He shared that he has always been happy to put a big red X on January. I was surprised by this. My dad has always just seemed to go with the flow. When I asked him to tell me more he indicated that January was just always so cold and gross and that getting through January meant you were just that much closer to springtime.

I couldn't agree more.

One of the goals I set for 2023 is to do a 100 day publishing streak. There is no better time to try to start a challenge than in February. It's a snowball thing - if you can make it the 28 days of February then you get success. This gives you a sense of accomplishment.

So, my goals for February are to do a 28 day publishing streak and then re-evaluate. I plan to publish every day on Hive as well as publish on additional platforms as I'm able. I've failed so many times at publishing streaks so wish me luck.

This is also a good way to mark Power Up Day.

Here are the criteria for Hive PUD:

• Your reputation must be above 39 and below 70.

My reputation has grown significantly since my last Power Up Day. I am now at 60.

• Your total Hive Power (before the 1st) must be more than 100 and less than 8000.

I have 328+ HP

• You must power up at least 10 Hive on February 1st.

• You must write a post about your power up on February 1st with the tag #HivePUD (International) or #HPUD (Spanish).

One of the things that was really beneficial to me to stay on track as well as I have in January was my Quarterly Retreat Workbook. Setting smaller goals and reviewing them more frequently has turned into one of the most beneficial practices of my life. If you'd like to learn more about my Quarterly Review products - including my free workbooks published each quarter - visit https://karamonroe.podia.com.

Are there certain months of the year that are just by their existence easier or hard for you?


📰 Want to make sure you never miss a story from me? Subscribe to my newsletter - I send out a fresh new article and do a round up of everything I published that week. It releases for free every Monday morning.


A version of this story was also published on Medium. You can view my Medium profile and see all of the stories I publish there at https://medium.com/@iwannabemewhenigrowup.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency