Fixing Fences - May 16, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

Fencing bucket and boots crop May 2023.jpg

On Tuesday morning around 9AM I went out and stocked my fencing bucket and found a roll of wire. My helper friend arrived at 9:30 and he got started weeding the Big garden.

Front pasture crop May 2023.jpg

I got started on the front pasture. It will need 10 posts to repair the fences, plus wire and insulators.

Middle pasture crop May 2023.jpg

I moved onto the middle pasture and my helper friend had 4 comfrey volunteers he dug and planted with the new little trees. The middle pasture needs 8 posts and I have 3 available.

Big garden - comfrey crop May 2023.jpg

The comfrey has flowers now.

Big garden - rhubarb crop May 2023.jpg

Next to it, the rhubarb is huge and we pulled more flowers off it Tuesday morning.

Big garden - horseradish crop May 2023.jpg

The horseradish is growing fast and has a flower. It needs to be dug up, all the roots, and a part replanted. My middle brother wants some and someone else laid claim to some too.

Big garden - north 1-3 weeded crop May 2023.jpg

He got ⅓ of the Big garden weeded. The next job is to move all the mulch off and put amendment down, put up pea fences and plant peas. Better late than never…

Big rose - pruned crop May 2023.jpg

He got tired of looking at all the winter kill on the Big rose and pruned it off. He also did the mountain laurel that was hit pretty hard.

Kousa - flowers crop May 2023.jpg

The Kousa dogwood has tons of flowers started.

Little trees crop May 2023.jpg

These are nearly all the little trees originally planted. The maple in the lower right corner has doubled in height this year so far.

On Wednesday I hope to get at least half of the back 40 fences repaired. That ought to finish me for the day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency