HiveFest: Big Boy Ticket

Buying the Hivefest ticket

Even though it's going to be expensive, I want to go to Hivefest.
Usually, I have been getting away with buying the cheapest ticket.
This time, while booking, this happened:

@felixxx ranks as 🐬 dolphin! Please grab a regular ticket or higher!

I could just go as @felixxxxxxxxxxxx or any other alias.

This event is crazy expensive, even though I have very little travel cost.
The cheapest hotel they recommend is almost 500€ for the weekend with a shared bathroom.
So just the hotel + ticket comes at almost 900€.

...for a weekend!


image.png


I did not become a dolphin (even went orca for a moment) by spending money recklessly.

Previous events

The 3 previous events I attended, were absolutely worth their money.
If I remember right, I payed 111€ for the first event and got 1900 coins on arrival.
... just the dinner at that xxxfest was easily worth 50€ alone.

XXX (Amsterdam)

Amsterdam is expensive. It always was.

I tried the opposite approach when I organized @steem.camp.
I chose the cheapest location and went small instead.
My event was cheap, but also quite small.
There were 12 guests.

I guess, if you want such an event to work, you got to go big.
If you want people to fly in from all over the world, you are probably better off choosing a popular destination over a remote campground in a remote village in rural Germany.

I mean: Hivefest could be (much) cheaper, but would it be as attractive?

Supported Tickets

I feel ok about having bought the cheapest tickets before.

@smooth and @pharesim (among others) had donated some funds and I have no problem with those 2 supporting my attendance.
I do not want @roelandp to come out of this at a loss, though.

https://hiveblocks.com/tx/57ca882ea32ed1ba98d5c702931e4a9e696d377a

I paid for a regular ticket.
Now, I am fully committed. rhyme, lol

Next quest:

Finding cheap(er) accommodation

I am not paying 146€ / night for a shared bathroom.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency