Prepping tweaks that should make your storage more useful...,

Most prepping post are about rice and beans and bullets. I must assume that you've already done that. What I would like to post here is stuff around the edges of prepping, that should help you if the s h t f occurs.

First let me say that I hope none of us ever have to face that, and that we're just buying ahead to save some cash! That said, here are some things that I do that I haven't seen online

Some stuff is worth buying name brands:
20210101_023013.jpg
What's interesting for prepping on these cans to note is that one can is a prepping can, and one can is a pantry pan. The can with the pop top, is the pantry can; because these don't last as long in storage! I bought these cans at the same place, for the same cost; but I put the pop top in my pantry and the regular can in my storage. Also anybody that knows me would know that both of these cans had a dozen or so, to go with them! If you have one you have none, so store enough to make a difference. Most people don't look at the cans or storing, they may end up with a big surprise when they pull out spoiled cans with a pop top.

Now let's talk brand names, sometimes they're not worth the extra money!
20210101_023214.jpg
This picture shows how much aluminum foil I can get, buying generic, instead of brand name. I could buy four times as many boxes a foil if I just avoided the brand name. Be sure before you jump off this cliff, that what's affordable you're buying is a good quality. That said, I bought a hundred and sixty feet of aluminum foil for what I could buy 30 feet of the brand name for. I use this foil to cook, and I've never had a failure with it.

Don't neglect things that are difficult to make that are easily acquired now:
20210101_030606.jpg
I'm sure that I could make socks if I needed to, but I'm also sure that it would be a pain! So I found some socks that fit and felt good, and I bought 50 pair. I plan on going back next month and buying another 50 pair. If they wear as well as they seem to be wearing, some will end up as barter stock.

Once you have a good Supply of the rice and beans and bullets; starts stocking in the stuff that will make life easier if things go bad. If they don't go bad, as we all hope; you just have extra.

Most of prepping is a combination of Common Sense and preparing for that which cannot be anticipated. It makes it an intellectual challenge at this point, but it may turn into a survival challenge on the other end. So use the brain God gave you, and whatever money you can scrape up; to make life easier, later!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency