A Semi-frustrated Idiot's 1st Glance at Market Maker

Screenshot 16.png

First, keep in mind Market Maker is still new and a work in progress. It's part of why I'm so excited about it, as I feel like I've been a little late to everything else..., but I digress.

Out of the box, so to speak, it was easy to register, fund, and start trading. Whether it's intentional, or just a matter of necessity to get it out there, the interface is very minimalist. There are only 4 tabs and no fluff on any of them.
After registering you'll be prompted to go to your dashboard...

Screenshot 25.png

Once there...

Screenshot 21.png

...it's pretty basic. I currently don't have any trading pairs to show, but I'll probably do a walkthrough of setting one up. For now, though, I'm just gonna explain why I don't have one to show so others can avoid the same mistake.

You have to have BEE staked to use the service as well as pay a fee to set up a trade. I was under the impression that fee was a one time cost once premium is activated, but I'm not sure that's the case, now..., but I may be wrong. I'll explain.

I set up a trade to swap DEC for HIVE (swap.hive) and paired it with HIVE for DEC. I set the parameters poorly, and spent out one of my pools. Instead of editing that order I just canceled it to start over with fresh eyes and now instead of paying that fee again, I have to stake that much more, which is definitely better, if that's the case. It looked like I was going to have to pay the fee again at first, but after several refreshes it seems to be holding at staking it instead. So keep that in mind..., but also keep in mind the fee is fractions of hive so it's not gonna break you.

But how did it work you ask? I'll tell you. Even with the mistakes I've made and the learning curve I managed to get it to work. Since my pool was depleted so quickly it didn't work the way it will when I get a better handle on it, but it's definitely something I'm going to keep playing with. Once I get my numbers right so it flows properly it's going to be remarkable. If anyone has experience with it I'd like to hear about it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency