Hive Questions That I Couldn't Answer, Can You?

Hi!

I've written 12,000+ words for beginners to Hive in the last two days.

Crazy! I knew Hive was complex, but I didn't expect to write that much. Hopefully there won't be a single beginner question that goes unanswered, but we'll see.

And writing all this forced me to learn so much. (And still likely getting much wrong.) Anyway, it's 9 main sections starting with how to sign-up easily, moving on to engagement etiquette, and ending with rewards & payouts... plus everything in between. (There's also bonus sections.)

Ultimately, it's going to need a major proof-read, but for now here's an outline of most of what I've researched.

Hive_Guide_Outline.png

Below I'll list my questions about Hive.

I'd love any helpful answers, resources, or links people can give.

I'm asking especially the people who so kindly responded to my last post and volunteered to help. (@intothewild , @nickhavey , and @marc5!) Thank you all so much in advance.


My questions for the Hive Beginner Guide:

(1) SIGNING UP

  • Why does Hivesigner need my active key, but Hive Keychain only needs my posting key?
  • Are Hive.Blog and PeakD 'equal' competing front-ends for Hive.io, or do they have a different relationship?

(2) RESOURCE CREDITS

  • Is Hive Power the same as Resource Credits? How are they related?
  • Does reblogging take (or earn) resource credits?

(3) POSTING

  • How do I resize an image in my post (on PeakD)?
  • What are communities?
  • What are cross-posting?

(4) No questions for this section... yet.

(5) CONSUME

  • When people upvote me, we all earn... but does reblogging result in more earnings? Does it earn for the reblogger & original-author & curators? If so, how?
  • Same for commenting-- Does 'commenting' result in more earnings? Does it earn for the commenter & the original-post-author & all curators? - If so, in what way?
  • Is Reputation Score the same as Hive Power?
  • Is reputation score stored on Hive.io, or PeakD, or both?
  • What is rep-score affected by?
  • Can rep-score be lowered by downvotes?

(6) No questions for this section... yet.

(7) REWARDS & EARNINGS

  • What's the relationship between Hive Power, reputation score, resource credits, and voting mana/power/weight?
  • Do they all affect one another?
  • Are some totally separate?
  • Do they all affect earnings or do some have zero impact on earnings?
  • Can witnesses band together and basically censor people with their power?
  • Is there anything important I should know about witnesses?
  • Can I become a witness?

How much money is in the Hive Reward Pool? Is it enough to pay new users?

  • (Also, I could use an expert to proof-read my 'inflation' section.)
  • How do curators share rewards?
  • Does reputation score determine their share?
  • And/or does Hive Power?

(8) PAYOUTS

  • What does this 'claim' button in my wallet do?
  • Why does the CLAIM button exist? (And does pushing it affect my HP or HBD?)
  • Can you give a clear explanation of how to convert HP/HIVE/HBD into a fiat currency such as USD?
  • Is the process different if I'm Canadian? Or European? Or American?

What exactly are holdings? Stakes? Vests/vesting?

  • What is the best resource for a beginner to learn about Hive Economics?
  • What is the best resource for a beginner to learn about Hive governance & politics?

(9) EXTRAS

What does **DAO **stand for? Is it the same as DHF? If so, why does it have two acronyms?

  • Are users 'HIVIANs' or 'HIVERs?' Why?

(10) RESOURCES

What Hive Tools are important? (HiveStacks, HiveStats, HiveBlocks, etc.)

(11) INFLUENCERS & VIPs

  • Who are the big fish on Hive? Which influencers to pay attention to?
  • Can bad things happen to me if I say something they don't like? Is it just the 20 witnesses or w/e?

Update: Thanks for answering so many questions so far, just a few to go!

I've done more research and study than you might think, but a lot of this stuff isn't answered clearly (or my Googling is way worse than I imagine.)

I apologize if this is too much to ask, but they really are things myself and @cynshineonline have been wondering. They're questions that most beginners coming from other platforms (FB, IG, Reddit, etc.) will be scared off by, so I'd really love to clear the fog away for them. Thing is I'm so new to Hive, that it's tricky for me.

Anyway, please feel no obligation here, and answer only whatever feels good and right to you.

Hive_Complex.pngPart of chalkboard taken from a dreamstime.com stock photo, people from Envato.com.

Thanks so much for reading and to anyone who contributes helpful info. You rock! I really do see this becoming the best guide for newbies to Hive, and you're all helping it come to life. I appreciate you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency