Is There A Soundcloud Type dApp On Hive?

img_0.7934541066723975

I hadn't heard of dApps until a few days. But I've come to realise that there are quite a few on the Hive blockchain. I know there's a video sharing dApp that's very similar to YouTube. But I was wondering if there is anything equivalent to Soundcloud on Hive? Or if anyone is developing one?

I'm asking this out of curiosity more than anything, but also because I know a few people who created music, myself included, who use services like Soundcloud to publish their songs. The problem with Soundcloud is monetising your music. Soundcloud gets the traffic but unless you pay for a premium account, you get nothing (unless things have changed since I last looked) even then the chances of making anything are small.

Although I have no idea how the blockchain creates crypto by people creating videos, blogs etc on Hive, it would seem that a music sharing dApp similar to Soundcloud would be a great fit. Musicians would get rewarded for what they create, and listeners would be rewarded too, by earning Hive.

I guess the biggest problem for anyone developing a dApp like this would be copyright. It's fine all the while people share their own creations, but if people were to share covers it would cause all sorts of problems.

I may be talking nonsense, in fact I probably am. I may have completely misunderstood how things work. But I know if there was a Soundcloud type dApp available or being developed, I for one would use it. I guess there are many thousands out there who would too.

Image Credit

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency