Improving the reader - Thoughts and design

Hello there,

Hope everyone is okay in this thrilling period of crypto roller coaster.

I love when everyone around me is talking about crypto. I take it as an opportunity to introduce Hive to them and convince them to use it for all their blogging needs.

But it's not the best to share stories.. they might say. To what I would answer... Here comes Inkito!

The site is still up on https://inkito.io and there is much more content now as I pointed to some Hive content manually.

However the development is far from over and the next item on my list was redesigning the reader.

Reading a few comics on comixology, it made sense to display comics (or novels) as spread on computer to use most of the space available. But readers have various tastes so I wanted the design to have several modes.

I came up with three modes on desktop:

  • Single page
  • Spread
  • Scroll

Here is the design I put together.
This is not set in stone and I'm still thinking how what would be the best reading experience.

image2_copy_768x577.png

A point about voting. I am thinking to do a single vote button per series instead of one per page. It could be pressed several times and would display the number of "ranked" or "active" pages left to vote for.

Why is that? Imagine reading a series with a hundred pages. Most likely you would start from the beginning. Those pages would have been posted ages ago and you wouldn't be able to upvote the content until you go through the accumulated buffer. The series might even be over before you reach the end and you would not have had the chance to support the creator.

About Hive content formatting, I thought about adding a Hive content editor with the ability to hide some of the content that shows in the blog. Some images work well in blogs but not much in series. It could be nice if a creator could decide which one not to display on Inkito.

Okay... Now the mobile version.

image1_copy_487x636.png

This would also feature various reading modes:

  • Left to right
  • Right to left
  • Scroll

The most important feature would be a snappy page turn. Meaning, when you scroll half the page and release the touch, the page should slide back or forward to the exact page width. What can I say... swiping is trendy nowadays.

I am currently coding the desktop version. I'm finishing the menu part.

I'll hit you up with a testable version once I finish.

Thanks for following along.

See you on the other side.

Jrej

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency