This too is crap...

I don't know how hard it is for other curators to find content to upvote. For me, it feels particularly hard. Used to be back in the Steem days, if a day was particularly hard to find good content to upvote, I'd ask my friends in Steem Chat, or even go through the posts in various chatrooms that people were sharing to try to maybe get an upvote. Many of the posts were standard fair, but occasionally I'd find one that was worthwhile.

Now, I find myself endlessly scrolling through posts, without even time to read most of them, just trying to find content worth an upvote.

Some of it is for sure. Of course, to know that it has to catch my attention enough to be read by me, and be in a language I speak. But if I stop and read every post, I won't have time. And if I don't, I might not find a really good post that just didn't have a title of beginning that caught my attention.

TBH, a major reason might be the increase in Spanish content lately on the chain, and the fact that I don't speak Spanish.

I also have no interest in over-hyping content either though, whether it be for the new project Blank, or Bitcoin, or Dogecoin, or whatever. I don't know if project Blank will be a success, and unless you can actually cover some information about it, I have no interest in reading your sqeeing about it. It's the same about Bitcoin TBH. We are in an entire sphere of crypto coins. Any one of them could be reigned king. It's exciting that Bitcoin is being recognized and pumped, but unless you can actually add something to the conversation, I don't really care.

So I find myself endlessly scrolling through content, looking for something that deserves an upvote.

Part of it is most certainly me. I want to reward content that stands out. Whether that be a cool little piece of art that someone made, or a post about their country, or their life. I want to reward content that is unique and exposes me to a different perspective or enlightens me in some way.

Perhaps part of it is the fact that we reward content here. Or that we aren't as active as Steem was. Or the particular nature of how this place is designed, that further rewards daily content, rather than tweaking a bit more to allow people to post a bit less, or continue to get rewards for a few weeks.

Whatever the reason, I don't think I'm delusional in thinking there's a lot of shit content here that really doesn't stand out.

There's also a lot of great content too, but you have to find it.

Honestly, I've felt it about my own content a lot of times. I'll just be making another shit post, just to post or share something about something I'm doing, thinking it will probably make a few cents, and then someone rewards it a few bucks and I'm like "WTF!"

I don't try to make every post amazing. Honestly, it's too stressful and too much hard work for them to only be rewarded a few cents. I haven't even posted a cooking post in forever, because they get such low rewards versus the amount of effort that it takes to take a picture of every step, or almost every step.

It does feel like we needs some better curation tools on here, or that I just don't have access to whatever tools may exist that would make my job easier. Guess maybe some curation projects might have something. Or maybe they don't. Perhaps they actually need a programmer to design something to make curation easier for them. Perhaps I'll try in the future, after I get this project for a Hive widget out of the way.

Until then, I'll just be endlessly doom scrolling for content that deserves rewards.

dam-166-deep-empty-basin-5013de.jpg
Dam 166 (Deep, Empty Basin)
Pine Ridge Agency: Miscellaneous Photographs
1923 - 1955
From The U.S. National Archives Picryl source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency