Why I don't like posting in some communities, but do it anyway

image.png

A rant we should share

I often post to the hive gaming community, where there are a whole lot of posts. It bothers me though, because community owners get 10% from every single post even if the leadership barely does any curating or community projects. Its owners have sort of a minimalistic engagement. Meanwhile, everything I upvote from it gets 10% taken away from the author I'm upvoting.

This is not specific to the hive gaming community, of course. There are some other groups I've tested in both this account and an alt. I don't know. I feel kind of... Let down. But specially in the hive gaming community, I feel the owners are getting a lot more than 100k hive power and low effort is worth. Specially when there is a lot more hive power from where that came from, but only 100k has been dedicated to the curation account.

10% of everything is a lot. Maybe most of us here in hive don't understand this appropriately. I want more from community owners. Hell, maybe I'll eventually become one and show them how it's done. But right now I lack the HP. If there is one community I must say it's doing a great job, it's Splinterlands. They host a lot of events and really get out there, encouraging engagement among members. That's probably why some great curators emerged, like @monster-curator.

So don't get me wrong, there are a few communities who are getting it right. I just wish there were more of them. If every hive member understood how much is being donated to administrators, maybe we'd be pickier about where we choose to post our stuff. By the way, being able to earn too much on a low effort leads only to less involvement and more selling, continuously dropping prices.

tl;dr some communities are milking hive and I don't like that

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency