PSA: Change Your Recovery Account, NOW.

social_hive_dark.jpg


Alas, this topic has been ignored or postponed by a lot of people I know.

Don't say;

I know all my passwords and keys, I'll never lose them. I'll change my recovery account later.

I barely use my keys anyways, there is no way I'd get hacked.

You'll never know.

To start, if you were a member on Steem/Steemit and had your account created by them, chances are your recovery account is set to @steem which, obviously, does not exist on Hive. This means that IF something happens and you GET HACKED and have your keys changed, you will NOT be able to recover your account.

Unfortunately, while it is not often, account hacks do happen. You might've leaked your key(s), a rogue software might've stolen it. You'll never know when you'll lose access to your account.

CHANGE YOUR RECOVERY ACCOUNT

You should change the recovery account to someone you trust, a friend, a colleague, your spouse. Definitely not steem and Justin Sun. Doesn't matter who it is, as long as you are close with them and trust them. You should change it immediately.

HOW TO CHANGE IT?

https://hivesigner.com/sign/change_recovery_account?account_to_recover=youraccountname&new_recovery_account=yourrecoveryaccount

Edit the link I've given above, changing the youraccountname part to whatever your account is called on Hive and yourrecoveryaccount to the person/account you want to have as your recovery account.

DO NOT HAVE @steem AS YOUR RECOVERY ACCOUNT.

If you do not know who your recovery account is, you can check it out on Hiveblocks. hiveblocks.com/@youraccountname


post scriptum

I am a witness! If you like what I am doing please vote me as a witness.
Use hive.blog's voting page by clicking here.
Use Peakd's voting page by clicking here.
Use Hivesigner by clicking here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency