Hive Related Stuff, Getting To Dolphin

Hello, hivers!

This post is about some of the things happening with me and Hive. First a bit of background about my time on this blockchain.

I've been writing on this blockchain for about 4 years and 2 months now. I started my steem account in about the middle of May of 2017. I first heard about the blockchain from a couple of people I was following on youtube at the time. I find it a bit interesting that 4 years later, I'm still here writing posts, and those people are long gone from the blockchain. They were among the many people who left steem when the price crashed. I'm still here for several reasons, some easy to explain, some not so easy to explain. One reason is that it's an outlet for me to write about my gardening and my various hobbies. Another is the challenge of trying to build up my account here on hive.

It took me a long time to get to what is now considered minnow status. I never had much fiat available to invest in steem, and now hive, so I had to build my account the hard way, by writing a post almost every day. I've almost never written more than 1 post in a day, I just didn't have enough to write about to make that happen. I was quite pleased to get to 500sp, because that meant I could use the slider for curation voting.

There was one period of time that I almost quit the blockchain, that was during the hostile takeover of the steem blockchain. For a month or so, it seemed like a waste of time to bother with the blockchain. When hive was announced, I moved over to it fairly quickly. I've been writing posts here on hive since then. I think I average 3-5 posts per week now, more or less. There are evenings when I just don't feel up to writing a post, and sometimes I just don't have anything to write about.

It's taken me about a week and a half to get around to writing this particular post. On the night of July 4, I powered up 15 hive to push my account over 10,000 hp. It took me 4 years of posting, plus converting my steem to hive to get to this point. Without powering down my steem and converting it to hive, I'd still be well below 10,000 hp. I think I had somewhere around 2500-3000 sp when the hostile takeover happened, and converting that to hive made a big difference in my account total. So, here I am, finally above the dolphin threshold. At this point, I'm thinking about holding onto some of the hive I make to use for trading on Tribaldex. At the current price in fiat, there's no point in cashing any of it out. I'll sit on it until the price is a lot more favorable before I consider trading for fiat. I have no intention of powering down any of my HP, that would just be moving backward.

As for other things I've been doing on hive beside writing posts, I've been trying to curate in a couple of my favorite communities. The first is the #catphotos community. This community has been around since before the start of Hive. It doesn't see much use, but for the past several months, I've been making sure that anyone who posts a decent cat post on there gets a good upvote from me. I don't really know if I'm the only one who is curating that community, but I check it every time I'm on the blockchain.

Another community that I've been spending time on is the #hivegarden community. This is a fairly new community on hive. This community is a good fit for me because much of what I post is about my gardens. I also curate that community every time I'm on the blockchain. I don't think I've seen any shit posts on their yet, so that's a good thing. There's a fair amount of food garden posts on there, and also a fair amount of cannabis related posts. One of the vote trails that I follow is for the cannabis community, so I usually already have that subject pretty well covered. I have that vote trail set to a straight 20% vote, so I know that anyone who gets that vote will get at least 3 cents from my account. I manually curate the other garden posts, usually with a 50% vote. I don't do a lot of curating on average, so a good vote doesn't run my account down too badly. I know what it's like to just get dust votes, so I try to be more giving than that.

One of the other communities that I've been interested in is the #musicforlife community. It's hard for me to curate in that community because so many of the posts there are Spanish language, and I don't understand the language. I'm sure that a lot of the posts are good, but I have no way of knowing. Some of the other posts are related to the Rockstar game, but I'm not a gamer, so I don't spend much time with them.
I have noticed that there's a lot of low upvoted posts there, for whatever reason. Perhaps it's just a lack of curation, I don't really know.
I could be wrong about this, but from my perspective at least, music related posts just don't seem to bee all that popular on hive...

I only have 4 or 5 people on my favorites list. Those people are on my favorites list because they don't post very often and I don't want to miss a post from them. I don't curate every day, so that's a real possibility if someone is not posting regularly.

Well, that's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to read it!

amber_yooper.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency