UNSCHOOLING HOMEMADE PHYSICAL EXPERIMENT (photos)

Experiments are the best way to awake natural kid's interest to sciences, such as chemistry and physics.

pic

My school sciences were very boring, that's why I got nothing from lessons, I had my good mark but I really knew almost nothing.
Hello, school system! 馃槱
Now when I really need some knowledge about these sciences, I failed...

But I've one more chance to get knowledge - to study sciences together with my son;)

And now we both make different experiments with great pleasure - it's fun + useful knowledge that helps to understand life and its processes.

So... our new experiment was devoted to water and it's surface tension馃専

It's hard to explain a 7-year old kid what it means. Actually for me at 35 it's hard as well馃槄馃槄
But when you see a nice experiment how it works, you understand it fast and easy!

So we need:

  • a glass of water
  • some pepper or cinnamon
  • some liquid for washing dishes

We had cinnamon, so we used it.
Take a full glass of water.
Put some cinnamon on the surface.

It will remain on the surface.

That's what we call "surface tension".

The next stage is taking 1-2 drops of liquid for washing dishes and put it into the glass.

And see what will be happening!

All cinnamon will be replaced to sides, like it's running away from these drops;)

And in some seconds it will start to sink!

Why?

Because liquid for washing dishes destroyes surface tension, and all what we had on the surface, will go down to the bottom of the glass.

Very clear and easy explanation, yeah?馃槈

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency