TEACHING MATHS: DIFFERENT APPROACHES + MY OWN EXPRIENCE WITH MY SON

Moms, Dads and all who respect and practice unschooling - welcome!:) Let's speak about Maths, and how to teach our kids to be friends with all these numbers;)

My son is 6 now, and we're getting close to Maths. He knows all numbers now and count well till 100, but he can't make any actions like + or - with them.
o it in an unusual way, but it appeared to be much easier;)

I found out that FINGERS are a great trainer for counting, and there is no need to forbid kids to do it.
Though I really heard much critics about using fingers.

image.png

And actually when I went to school, and I was tested how well I was prepared for it, I used my fingers for Maths test, and because of this I was led not the Maths class, because using fingers was bad, as teachers said.

Actually, NO.
Fingers are great for the first period when kids need to see something to count well.

Then methods are divided into using cubes or anything you like - candies, toys, pens.

image.png

And the principle of this method is in looking at these items.
A kid uses his visual memory + imagination, and it works fine for remembering Maths acions.

image.png

Another method is a Number Line.
All numbers must be in front of kids' eyes.

image.png

  1. He looks at them many times a day - memory works fine in such a way.
  2. A kid is explained that
  • is just a road to the right.
    We count STEPS to the right from one number to another.

We have 2+1 = ?
We find 2, and we need to make 1 step to the right. What number is there? Yeah, 3!

If we have - (minus) - we go to the left.
That's it!
easy and clear!

We use Number Line during some time while a kid is ready to leave it because it is saved in his memory well enough not to look at it any more.
Visual memory will work in any case, and in some weeks a kid will count well!

I tried both methods with my son - cubes and a number line.
I wanted to know which one would work better for my son.
But I felt that Number Line would be better:)
And I was right!

Cubes are well enough, but not for us.
Number Line started to give results much better and much faster.

-ZyJj4vPVLQ.jpg

We bought cards with numbers for this purpose and hang them on the wall.
Then I created different games with counting,

fPmbpgiko5M.jpg

or just wrote some tasks in the exercise-book, and my son used the Number Line and counted fast and well.

that is our first tries;)

avu7ip26z4g.jpg

Now we've been using the Number Line for 2-3 weeks, and I must say I'm satisfied with it.
Now my son is starting to make easy tasks with numbers 0-10 without looking at it! We can walk in the street, and I ask him 3+2, and he remebers his Number Line ans say right!

_HqoCnZ6N0Q.jpg

Now we're going to the second step - Numbers from 10 to 20.
It will be a Line on the wall too, and then thre will no need to make lines for all the rest numbers, because the principle will be clear for a kid.

WFpH1-RLm9I.jpg

So, guys, what do you think of it?:)
How did you teach your kids?
Maybe I'll like your lifehacks too?
Share them pls!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency