Teaching Your Children That There Are Seasons Of Life

Growing up, I was taught that there were four seasons each year:

  • Winter
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Fall

In hindsight, it is more accurate to say that there were four distinct weather patterns in the part of the United States where I grew up. Each season consumed 3 months of the year.

When I moved to Indonesia, my national friends only identified two primary weather seasons (hot and dry versus slightly less hot and wet), with some throwing in the windy season as number three. Noe to self: I should tell the story about glass-laced kite strings sometime.

In addition to weather patterns, Indonesians commonly referenced certain times of the year as a particular fruit season, the period of time when fruit was being grown until harvest. Most of my Indonesian friends' favorite fruit season was durian season.

As you can already see, the word season is both simple and complex.

What is a Season?


You can check out Merriam Webster for a complete explanation of what season means. Please note I am using the noun form of the word season in this post.

But for our time together, I choose to define "season" as a period of time.

These periods of time often mark agricultural activity, special holidays or festivals, unique patterns of weather, and migration or mating cycles. But even more importantly, the word season is used to mark important periods of time in our lives.

road-1072823_1280.jpg

Image by Valiphotos from Pixabay

A Season of Absence


It has been a long time since I wrote a post. My last post was published on April 23rd, 2021.

I have been away so long that I have to dust off the cobwebs in the crevices of my brain that stored my knowledge of Markdown. This season of absence may be coming to an end, but it was not without consequence.

Life sometimes throws you for a loop. New responsibilities were given, those few "free" moments to write were consumed with other activities, and then COVID decided to wreak havoc on my family.

It has been a long 138 days. I am glad to be back!

Turning Points


One of the beautiful things about seasons of life is that they all have a beginning and an end.

My season of absence from the Hive community is in the process of being replaced with a new season of being present and active. My friend, no matter what you are facing at this moment, a new season is coming.

Teaching Our Kiddos About the Seasons

As a parent, I believe it is important to teach our kiddos about the seasons of life, the transitions between seasons, and how they impact our lives.

The "School" Season


My wife and I are firm believers that every day presents a new opportunity to learn and grow. That truth applies to both ourselves and our kiddos.

That being said, there are certain guidelines we follow based on where we live. According to our state's guidelines, the school year ends on June 30th. Our kiddos enjoyed a season of rest throughout the majority of the summer months.

Although we operate within a timeframe that often looks like a traditional school year, we emphasize mastery over completion. That means that we move at the speed that best suits the needs of our kiddos. We have the freedom to move faster or slower when needed.

Lesson To Learn: Although seasons are marked with a beginning and an end, don't be a slave to the starting and ending date. Know your goal and work hard to achieve it!

A Season Under Our Roof


My wife and I only have our kids under our direct supervision for a season, perhaps a long season, but one with an ending date.

That truth is associated with so many emotions. One of our parenting philosophies is that my wife and I are responsible for equipping our children to be the best versions of their future selves.

It brings me great joy to be a father. I cherish the opportunity, but with it comes great responsibility. I am proud of my "little ones" (some not so little anymore) as I watch them grow and mature. This season in my life is one of the most challenging and rewarding.

Lesson To Learn: Many seasons bring about a harvest. Sometimes the greatest reward is watching the harvest in the life of another person. As parents, we often sow seed that our children will reap.

Seasons of Emotions


I stumbled upon the Hive community in June 2017. It was under a different name at the time. During the summer of that year, I faced some of the darkest moments I had ever faced in my life.

Writing posts became my therapy. It was an outlet for me to create and share my thoughts and dream. There will be times in my childrens' live when they face similar obstacles.

I want to teach them that those moments could last hours or days. And in some instances, those "moments" might turn into months, years, or even decades.

Every season has a beginning and an end. But unfortunately, we rarely have the benefit of knowing those starting and ending dates.

Lesson To Learn: Dark days are eventually replaced by bright lights. When we walk through a valley (a dark time), we show our kiddos how to press on. Don't hide your struggles from your children as you move through tough times.

Seasons of Responsibilty


I thought middle school was hard until I reached high school. I thought high school was hard until I entered college. You get the picture.

There are seasons of life that require our presence and attentiveness:

  • Education
  • Work
  • Family
  • Dream and Goals

One of my hopes for my kiddos is that they will "show up" as they face challenging times. There are occasions when you need to move away from an obstacle, but we often need to stand face-to-face with our giants.

Lesson To Learn: I want my kiddos to continue to learn how to take the credit (or blame) for their thoughts, words, and actions. I want them to know how to give 100% when it is required to see through to the end.

Seasons of Rest


On the flip side, there are times in our life when we need to pull back. Burning the candle at both ends can lead to disastrous results. Plowing full speed ahead is sometimes needed for a season. But once that season is over, we often need to relax, recreate and recoup.

Lesson To Learn: Work hard and play hard. Learn what is needed in the short term to accomplish a goal. Learn what is needed in the long-term to keep your body and mind healthy and operating at full capacity.

Seasons of Grief


Losing someone is one of the hardest things you will ever face in life. Not only does grief extend to the death of a loved one, but it can also occur when you lose a career, a marriage, a dream, etc.

The moment that causes grief is short and fleeting. Recovering from that "short moment" in time is ongoing.

Lesson To Learn: As we encourage and equip and children to dream big and accomplish great things, we need to be ready to be a listening ear when life throws them a curveball. It is hard to lose someone or something. Those though times seem impossible in the moment.

I want to hear from you!

I appreciate everyone who made it this far. Let's continue the conversation in the comments section.

Is there a season of life that I forgot to share? If so, please let me know in the comments section. Tell us your lesson to learn as well.

Thanks for stopping by!


@sumatranate

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency