Maths class - practical setting

img_0.27921298517796833.jpg

Good evening from Australia Home Edders I trust you're all having a fantastic day or night. We're having a great time losing hair trying to educate lil miss 3. I honestly can't complain though, she is a gem. I wish you could meet her to understand. Education plays a big role in development and I'll try and explain it.

About 6 months ago a journalist attended our home to interview my wife. She was met by lil miss 3, The journalist began speaking some form of low word baby talk. Lil Miss 3 responds with "I'm not a baby". The journalist took a step back and commenced talking normal. "Hi my name is, how are you? What have you been upto etc and lil miss 3 sustained the conversation, knew what a journalist was and did.

The journalist asked how old she was and I responded, 3. They were amazed and said I must read alot to her. I said no, I don't often have time to read as I am always stuck reading briefs, budget submissions, policies, strategies. Which is what I actually read to her. But I do engage in alot of discussion. I always include lil miss 3 in everything.

It back fires on me though, you ever argue with a 3 year old about not doing something? Try doing it with a 3 yr old that can hold a debate. I can literally see her stop, think and respond. She is already anticipating my response and trying to navigate the conversation. Not a skill everyone has.

img_0.8790649499968366.jpg

But tonight is about Math. And what better way to learn about sizes and measurements including ALGIBRA I hate it so much I don't know if I spelled it correctly. Then with tools! Now, I know that this is the first time you have seen this. But I can assure you lil miss is handy with tools. You may have previously seen her repair a hole in the wall. No joke she did the brunt of the work.

But we've also built a decking together and a 3 meter raised garden bed from wood. Shes good.

img_0.10634594809118468.jpg

I wasn't sure about purchasing this tool set as the label said 5+ I should have known better. I know, my bad. I have apologised to her about it. She didn't know why someone wouldn't write her age on it and immediately went to work.

The tool set came with a few projects to build as she hastily wanted to commence them I asked her to wait so I can help her with the pieces. After about 2 hrs and a battle I wasn't going to win. We went to the shed, got some wood and some nails.

She's currently building something for her doll house but hasn't told me yet and wants to show me later. She also asked me to get more wood for her.

The task however, that I set for her was to nail nails into the wood 5cms apart using the ruler.

img_0.9614357444295073.jpg

There is a 5, 6 and an 8. She informed me it is because she did it Zig Zag because straight was too "boring".

Happy Home Schooling everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency