Life skills unlocked

img_0.6835327788794584.jpg

It's a regular lunchtime break but this time with a little bit of a spin as little miss asks to make something new and different. She's set a challenge to make something different to eat every single day and one that makes me a little scared.

I'm old, I don't care what I eat for lunch anymore or if I can even be bothered eating it at all. I'll opt for 2 Min noodles, ham sandwich or salami sandwich. But kids, they like to be creative and if the same thing looks different each day it's new.

So we hit up Tik Tok as there have been a lot of new few second videos of cooking and snack ideas. It's what led me to start mine on 3speak.

img_0.9361547916343322.jpg

Today we're making unicorn bread which, is just pretty much fairy bread with a twist. We start off by cutting away the crust and rolling the bread out thin.

I used Toast bread because it is thicker and of course dad takes care of all the dangerous sharp bits and then it is upto little miss to flatten the bread with a rolling pin.

We lightly butter the bread but we use margarine because it is less fatty not as tasty but it stops the arteries from clogging up!

img_0.5218257293595842.jpg

Once that's done it's time to add our special unicorn magic and I am not too sure what they are called as when I was a kid they used to be called hundreds and thousands.

This isn't something we make often but rather left over from cake decorating I've never been a fan of giving my kid straight sugar because that's what these things pretty much are.

Make sure to evenly coat and ensure they end up on the bread not like us, we got more on the bench than the floor 🤣

img_0.5803908296899484.jpg

As you can see we have a nice spread but keeping away from the edges abit as the next stage gets a little tricky and little miss struggled quite a bit I put it down to the butter not being sticky enough.

img_0.4646416471786458.jpg

All that's left to do is roll the bread into what I can describe as a tube which little miss did a fantastic job at doing and cut the bread in half if you like so you double your amount.

img_0.6347313962130662.jpg

As you can see we have a lovely piece of flattened bread that has hundreds and thousands that was once called fairy bread but this method completely changes what lunch is into unicorn bread! Although we joked and said it was more like Unicorn poo 💩 🤣🤣🤣

We've also done a few other lunch time snacks that have provided us with different meals per day and this challenge has been fun because I've gotten the opportunity to test little misses cooking skills and her taste buds.

Going for chip sandwiches and variou other things we used to try ourselves as kids shows that little miss is aware of her tastes and is experimenting with different flavours trying to see what mashes together and what doesn't.

We haven't gotten to the chilli yet but I rekon we might give that one a miss for now 🤣🤣🤣

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency