History Class

img_0.7907793454301344.jpg

Good evening @homeedders I hope that you're having a wonderful night. Tonight is a little bit different as it's about history. My wife was elected to local government, she is amongst the first Aboriginal Australians to do so.

img_0.19183824681371642.jpg

Today is Australia day, which is an odd date in my opinion because it is not celebrated on our Independence day but rather when Britain arrived. I won't bore you with my words but let you read my wifes.

img_0.3873533508734409.jpg

Today is Australia day and as a proud Wiradjuri woman I am pleased to welcome our newest Australian Citizens to our country, wishing them all the very best in success and life in our magnificent nation.

I would like to formally congratulate:

Annette Butterworth, Citizen of the Year
Lauchie Wright, Young Citizen of the Year
Prabha Shrestha, Gender Equity Leader of the Year
Zoe Attard, Access & Inclusion Leader of the Year
Ehab Hadaya, Intercultural Leader of the Year

I also want to acknowledge and pay my respects to all Indigenous people on this day. For many, today marks the raising of the English flag by Arthur Phillip who in 1788 arrived in Port Jackson, New South Wales and declared New South Wales a colony of Britain.

For Indigenous people, it marks a date of mourning as without a formal treaty Traditional Owners were marched off their lands in breach of the law and wrongful application of Terra Nullius.
It was not for another 113 years later, in 1901 when Australia became a federation, and the Commonwealth of Australia was formally established.

Through this process Indigenous people continued to be displaced, murdered, raped and black birded. Events that saw my family impacted by colonial laws and taken. These events continued to happen well into the 60’s and 70’s with my mother taken off her mother and placed in the Ballarat orphanage with other Indigenous kids. Resulting in what people refer to as "Cultural Genocide" and the “Stolen Generation”.

I am amongst the first Indigenous people to be elected to office as Indigenous Australian's were not permitted to engage in nominations or voting until the 1967 referendum which saw the entire nation stand united, together to right past wrongs. I thank you.

As an Aboriginal woman, I feel pain each year on this day. However, I do not want this day to be marked or remembered with pain. For many it marks a day of celebration and unity which I honestly believe in. As an Aboriginal woman, elected to Local Government by her community it is evident that Australia has moved on from the past and continues to unite together. After all, Australian culture and heritage belong to all Australians.

But I must ask and seek your support one last time, so that my children and the children that come after do not have to feel this pain. Can we please change the date?

Thank you for your support
Cr Vandenberg

img_0.22785164247700576.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency