DYI Projects with Little Miss 3

img_0.9314868827757682.jpg

Goooooood evening Home Edders I hope you've all been well, it's been some time since I posted and I was scrolling through some of my pictures and I stumbled across this DYI project I put together with little miss 3 just over 2 years ago.

First of all, apologies for the toplessness. I also had a year off training due to parenting responsibilities and not having the time. It was also around this time 2 years ago so it was really hot!

img_0.8165917203000274.jpg

I originally put the raised planter box together at the end of our side decking and steps for two purposes.

  1. I needed something at the end of the decking to prevent little miss 3 falling off when she started crawling and walking.

  2. I wanted somewhere to plant veggies and teach little miss 3 about growing her own food and gardening.

The veggie patch didn't work out to well for two reasons, 1 it got too much sun and it often burned the seedlings. And second of all, Lil Miss often pulled the fruit/vegetables off before they were ripe. It was still alot of fun.

However, as all things I had been putting off painting it for quite some time and to my wifes discontent at a plain boring timber planter box decided to get lil miss 3 in on the action of staining it Japan Black.

I do have images of us building it together, she didn't have the strength to cut through the timber and required support with the hand saw. It was our first major project together and I was scared she would lose a finger. But we survived and it came out really good.

img_0.4065002303160341.jpg

Alas the completed paint job was awesome and it came out really nice, we also planted some flowering hedges so provide some colour. Our main living room looked directly out onto this small deck and garden bed so was quite nice.

Unfortunately, we have since sold the unit and won't get to see the plants flower. But it was still a great DYI project together.

Have you put together any DYI with your little kids to help them build their skills and understanding of painting? I'd be interested in seeing some of the work you have completed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency