Teaching our Little Kobold (4yo) multiplication at home

Hello dear Hive-Bloggers...
How have you been? I just suddenly realised that I haven't been online in Hive for so long. I wonder if my readers still remember me 😀.
I just got my self too occupied by other things, one of them is "Splinterlands" which is getting even more bustling recently, so that I didn't find any chance to update my blog here.

I actually had so many videos and pictures to present since few months ago but I still need time to sort them out.
Today I'd just start with the simple one, which doesn't need much editing.
This video was taken few months ago. At that time my little daughter was 4 years and 3 months old.
She seems to love learning math so I decided to teach her simple math operation.

In this video you can see her learning the basic principle of multiplication.
My dad was also teaching me math rather early, so I was already quite advanced in math when I was sitting in the first class of primary school.
However I must say that indonesian style of teaching was more about memorizing instead of understanding.






This time I rather try to help my child to understand the problem instead of just memorising the correct result of 2 times 3 for example. This way she would learn how to solve problem creatively instead of just following patterns and rules. Can a 4 years old kid actually understand this much? I wasn't really sure before but now I am :).

Should you also do it with your own children?
Well... I think it is always ok to try, there is nothing wrong nor bad in learning afterall.
The ability of every person is different, and the interest of each person is also different.
It is true that a certain training which works well for child A will not necessarily also work for child B, therefore trial and error is just a matter of course.
We would never know whether our child can do it, if we never try to teach it 😊.

We all know too that children at this age are always asking an endless "Why, why and why..." for every single thing they encounter.
I believe as well that many of parents are made speechless by some certain questions, not knowing how to explain as we might think that they are still too small to understand.
But I and my husband think that we shouldn't underestimate our children's capability to process informations and to understand things.
They might be much better than we've always thought they are.
My husband once said, if it is hard to find the simple explanation suitable for toddler's logic... then just explain it as scientific as possible. It is good enough to give the main idea and try to leave out the small and complicated details. It's better than simply brushing it off or inventing fake theories aka lying.
By telling the real fact, it is atleast a correct information.
My daughter never fears darkness nor fantasize about monster and fearing them, because she knows that it is fake, only exist in a tale.
She enjoys reading the tales though :-D.
She also knows that Dinosaurs have existed but not anymore, so she is only admiring them. Just like her dad, she is a little fan of Dinosaurs.
She is also a little fan of "Splinterlands" and loves watching me slaying monsters LOL.

Anyway...it doesn't really matter how much from those "facts" they can actually comprehend, but this information would still be saved somewhere in the corner of their brain. Someday in the future when they are already in school and meet the same topic, this information will be dug up again. It would surely be better if they had saved the correct information instead of those so called "white lies", cos she would be able to comprehend it better this time.

The key point is that the learning process should always be fun for the child, no pressure, no stress... this way I think it is fine to let our children learn everything that we can teach them.
This is also a reason why we are into a homeschooling option actually.
It's obvious that my child learns rather well at home with me, cos she can learn with her own pace and have a rest to do another interesting things whenever she needs a pause from strenuous brain activities.
Considering social skills issues which are often used to counter the homeschooling idea, I don't see any reason to worry about that actually.
Cos school is not the only place available to find friends, to deal with interpersonal relationship or even to learn about rules and disciplines.
Friendship and social skills can also be nurtured in the playgrounds, pathfinders, sport clubs, art clubs or many other clubs that our children can join according to their own personal hobbies/interest/talent.
However unfortunately homeschooling is not allowed in Germany.
Ok friends... it is enough for to day.

Thanks for stopping by and I wish to greet you again soon with the next article :).
Have a nice day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency