Mechanical Education

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share some of the fun I had showing our son his first car repair session! It was some pretty awesome weather so I wanted to take advantage of that and do some basic car work!

A8E092C681E04783B7A3C01731AE3B2A.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Mechanically Inclined

So one of the really fun things with our son is he absolutely loves things that are mechanical like trucks, tools and all that stuff. Perfect for me who loves to do it but doesn't get to too often since I'm working. I was really excited because this was my first chance to really have him help me the entire time I was out there doing work. I made sure it was a fairly easy job and one that wasn't too intensive but he and I both loved doing it together.

He was obviously safe the entire time we were doing it, I made him stand back at a distance for the difficult pieces but I wanted to make sure that he knew enough of how to be in that situation so he can help me in the future.

He's been asking me for a while what this tool did. It sits in our closet doing nothing but whenever we need to get some tools I have to move it so he's wondered what exactly it does. He was very excited to see it in action for the first time, never mind getting to use it himself! I positioned it so that it was in the spot that I wanted it but I made him raise the car. He did it to an actually pretty good height before it got too challenging for him to jack it up any more so I was very proud of the little man!

A8E092C681E04783B7A3C01731AE3B2A.jpeg

When it came time to remove the nuts off the bolts keeping the wheel on, I obviously cracked them loose but made him loosen them with me. He did one whole wheel by himself once I got it taken care of appropriately, it was fun to see.

5C18FED36F8142E8B1C13F86247AAF82.jpeg

He also is smart at realizing when something is more effort than it needs to be lol using the socket was good to get them started but it's tiring on the fingers when you do it that way so he ditched the socket and spun them off by hand!

25591AB5DB4D4087A2D1C21F33239A8B.jpeg

He had fun when supervised but rolling the tire from one end of the car to the other. He got to do it on all four tires and got to see what it was like to feel the tire when it wasn't attached to the car. He was surprised that it was so heavy but at the same time pretty easy to roll.

370C2891438346189A15711CD9A28B2C.jpeg

The last step in the process was to obviously put the tires back on the car with the bolts and tighten then torque them into place. This was the steel breaker bar so it didn't torque but I guess I didn't get a picture of him using the torque wrench. He always loves to use my tools that are of a ratchet type since they click. I don't blame him, the ratchets are awesome!

9A79ACBD62F44A6FBC04CDF455BF59DD.jpeg

One of the things I want to instill in our son is his ability to be able to have confidence in his abilities to fix things. He's very good at breaking things which is expected for his age but he also is very interested in building his own stuff and taking things apart to learn how they work. A few months ago we took apart a broken toy of his just so we could see what the inside looked like, he loved it!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 1,892 PRE tokens, with a market value of $28.37. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency