Learning whilst filming

I spent some quality time with my lad filming some more videos for his YouTube channel T-Man Adventures!

img_1448.jpg

He loves filming and presenting like this, and he always takes something new away from the experience.
I made an effort on this occasion to not intervene in any way.
I just setup and left him to it, to talk about exactly what he wanted in the way he wanted to, without any suggestions from me.

It seemed to work out much better that way with no stress.

We did a cheap and cheerful setup in my office.

It took us about an hour from setup, to recording, to packing down. Unusually quick I must say.

I set up two cameras, two lights and a mic - to film him talking about his Goo Jit Zu toy collection.

What are Goo Jit Zu’s?

He’s obsessed with Goo Jit Zu’s, the latest toy craze that he loves to collect and play with.

img_1446.png

They are gooey/stretchy zoo animal creatures that now have special powers once they were over taken with potent and mysterious alien goo. (Ooooh! Mystery goo!)

He got this one (below) for Christmas!

img_1447.png

They’re very similar to Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles I guess… normal turtles who came in to contact with green nuclear slime… and hey presto… became all powerful mutants!

Hang on, they both sound remarkably similar in theme 🤔😂

I used to love TMNT when I was a kid, loving the animated TV show and all the figures/merch that went with it.
So with these I can see the appeal for young kids.
They feed their imaginations and encourage creative play.

img_1450.jpg

The main purpose of filming was for him to show his collection to his YouTube audience (and friends); to explain their names and what each figure does.
He did a great job and memorised what the best things to do were from the last bit of filming we did.

We also did this fun comic style effect with the figurines in front of cool backgrounds on the iMac! (Below)
We had so much fun laughing our asses off saying really ridiculous things.

img_1378.heic

Filming for confidence

I’d thoroughly recommend filming like this for kids.
It really helped my lad open up far more than he would with new people. He’s discovered the distinctions between the ‘on camera’ self and his true self. He knows deep down that there is a performance going on, but he lets some of his best personal traits shine through. Traits like joke telling, timing, consideration of his vocabulary and thinking before he talks etc.

I want to have this episode edited for release on New Years Day!

img_1449.jpg

It’s been months since we last released a video so I think it would be special to have a fresh start for him and kick off 2022 how we mean to go on.

Cheers for reading and happy New Year’s Eve!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency