Let's Alphabetize! Sorting Words In Alphabetical Order

Homeschool (1).gif

Keeping Order

Imagine if thousands of words are presented to you in chaos and you need to look for a particular one? How hard can that get right? Well, easy if it is in an electronic document where a simple "CTRL-F" will do. But what if it's not?

Chances are, we will keep on looking and looking until we get tired! :D

Thankfully, most documents are already sorted alphabetically (like dictionaries) but we still need to know the alphabetical order to be able to easily find the word we are looking for.

20210609_222853.gif

Alphabetical Order

When we arrange words in alphabetical order, we put the words in the order in which they appear in the alphabet. Easy?

Let's practice.

I think I made it a bit too much at first when I gave her 10 words to sort. To make it a bit more tricky, I added words that have the same beginning letter.

If the first letters are the same, compare the second letters.

She struggled with the first exercise so I toned it down a bit in the second round with only five words.

IMG_20210608_111959.jpg

Later on, I got on a video call with my little sis and I asked her to give us some more words for practice.

Here's what you get when you ask my suggestions from my sister. Hey sister, we're working with a first grader here, okay? LOL.

IMG_20210608_112016.jpg

Next task: go to the dictionary and get the meanings of these words. 😁

More Sorting!

To give her a more practical application of what she just learned about sorting words in alphabetical order, I asked Little Miss to sort our books by title in alphabetical order from left to right.

IMG_20210609_130859.jpg

She took all the books out and laid them on the floor and started to work. Ahhm, please excuse the jojo bow that has taken most of the view. Hehe.

IMG_20210609_130948.jpg

Finally, after a few minutes, she managed to sort all the books correctly. Oh well, she missed the part that she has to arrange them on the shelf, but she still did a good job, don't you think?

IMG_20210609_131450.jpg

arrliinn footer.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency