My Ride - What Do You Know?

Mike became dizzy, and slumped to the floor.

"Well done, Collins. You can handle things from here?" asked Appelt.

"Can you please help me get him up on the table, Sir?" Collins requested. Appelt and Collins then heaved the big man onto a large, metal examination table. After fastening the straps, Collins quite literally jumped for joy.

"A few tests and we will know for sure. But I really don't think this is Larry." said Collins, with a maniacal light in his eyes.

"I don't think he is either. But the big question is, can we replicate whatever happened, and do it reliably? Remember, the goal here is to come and go at will." Appelt gently reminded his brilliant but laser focused employee.

"It's too soon to even speculate, but just think - we are in all likelihood standing in the same room with the very first interdimensional traveler in the history of mankind!" replied Collins, his tone every bit as excited as a kid's on Christmas morning.

"Yes. This is definitely a historic moment! I will leave you to confirm it, though." said Appelt, trying to sound enthusiastic.

"And I thought I was driven. Well I am, but at least I can keep my ambitions to myself. That guy gives me the creeps!" Appelt thought to himself, as he closed the door to the lab, and reset the security system. Collins would definitely not be in the mood for random visitors.



Nine hours later, in Appelt's office:



"Well it's definitely not Larry. I pulled up his dental records, and he had several teeth removed a few years ago. This man has those teeth. The DNA test results aren't in yet. I'm very curious about those... Also, I did some blood and tissue tests. This guy hasn't been around much pollution! It's almost like he's been living under a rock. Or somewhere that doesn't have our environmental issues." said Collins, still hyper.

"That sounds promising. Perhaps it's a pristine world, just waiting for us to harvest its natural resources." said Appelt thoughtfully.

"It could be. Or maybe they're so advanced that they've already solved their problems. We might get some answers when the subject wakes up." replied Collins.

"When will that be? I'm very anxious to have a chat with our new friend..." said Appelt, as he made the metal balls of the little structure on his desk go clack clack clack.

"It should be any time. Let's go check on him, shall we?" replied Collins, grinning.



At Blake's home:



"He should be back by now. I wonder why he didn't even give me an update at lunch. I hope he's alright..."thought Blake, as he gazed at his silent phone.

Several minutes later, he began to pack a bag. "I'll give him five more minutes, then I'm going to go find him." muttered Blake, frowning.

By the time the bag was packed, and a note pinned on the fridge, it was time to go. Moments later, he was driving towards Appelt Industries.



In the laboratory at Appelt Industries:



"Where are you from?" Appelt asked a very groggy Mike, as he struggled against his bonds.

"What are you doing?!?! Let me go." Mike replied in a panic.

"You are here as our guest. Now it's your turn to answer." replied Appelt, with an evil grin.

"I'm your employee, Larry Fisher." Mike replied, his voice shaking.

"Try again. Collins here did some tests, we know that you aren't Larry. And that you aren't from around here." Appelt said confidently.

"Well that's what everyone has been telling me. I figured I might as well try to be him." said Mike, a small hope glimmering in him that perhaps he could talk his way out of the mess he was in.

"Then where are you from? If you help us, maybe we can get you back home. I'm a businessman, and I have connections." Appelt said reasonably.

"I know they'll never let me go... But maybe if I repeat what they already know, it'll give Blake time to get me free." thought Mike.

"My name is Mike, and I live outside of Deersberg on a farm, with my wife and son." he said truthfully.

"There, that wasn't so difficult, now was it?" asked Appelt softly.

"No... I just want to get back home. I'll be grateful if you can help me. But why am I tied up?" he asked.

"We just can't take a chance on you leaving. We don't know what the jump might have done to you, and we need to keep you safe." Collins said reasonably.

"I understand... I just really want these straps off. So I can think better." he said sadly.

"I guess we could use the handcuffs and shackles. He might be able to give us more details if we can make him more comfortable." suggested Appelt.

Collins nodded, and produced the objects from a drawer. Soon Mike found himself wearing them. "Oh well, at least I can move around a little now." he thought.



Blake parked a block away, and approached the building on foot. Before entering the lobby, he put on the latex mask which was an exact replica of Mike and Larry's face. "I'm sure glad our builds are similar enough to pull this off." he thought, as he greeted the guard with a wave.

"Hey, Larry! The boss got you burning the midnight oil?" asked the older man, as he adjusted the collar of his uniform.

"Uh huh." grunted Blake, faking a cough at the same time.

"Maybe you should have taken a little more time off. Sounds like you're coming down with something." he said, in a concerned tone.

"Maybe I will, thanks." he coughed out, heading for the elevator.

Soon Blake was wandering around the halls, looking for his friend. "Ah! There's Appelt's office!" he exclaimed, after ten minutes of searching. Experimentally, he tapped on the door.

Nothing. "Mr. Appelt?" he enquired softly, tapping again. When he didn't hear a sound, he tried the door.

"You might know, it's locked... I guess I'll just have to keep looking." he whispered, disappointed.

"Well, what have we got here? I haven't seen one of those on any other door around this place." thought Blake, as he saw the security panel.

"And there's a light on!" he whispered excitedly. Deciding that it was best to take advantage of the element of surprise, he waited right outside of the door, intending to grab whoever exited the room.

"That's all I know. I just woke up in a car, and now I don't know how to get back home. Like I said before, if you can help me, I'll be forever grateful." he heard in very muffled tones, through the mostly soundproof door.



To be continued!
@indayclara here is the next part as promised :)
Cover image made in Canva using their gallery



The entire series

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency