My Ride - Let's Do This Thing!

copy_of_copy_of_my_ride.jpg



In Mr. Appelt's office - Appelt Industries Headquarters:



"Collins... Does a subject have to be in contact with the prototype at the moment of transport? And what would happen if there was a duplicate of the person who jumped?" asked Appelt, curiously.

"This field of research is too new to even make an educated guess. We just don't know yet. That's part of what makes it so exciting!" Collins replied, with a light in his eyes that was brighter than the small lamp should have been able to reflect.

"This guy is beyond driven. I'd best watch my back, or I might be the next lab rat." thought Appelt, unnerved by his employee's maniacal zeal. "Let's get Larry Fisher back in here for some tests - if he is indeed Larry. Unless you prefer to start fresh? I can get a new subject." Appelt offered, eager to see the research continue - just not on himself.

"I don't see any reason to get someone else. The fewer who are involved the better. And I am very curious about what happened to him." Collins said, seeing where Appelt's questions were leading. It only stoked his fires to think that he might soon set eyes upon the first interdimensional traveler in the history of mankind.



In Blake's living room:



"Larry - er, sorry, Mike... It might be dangerous going into Appelt Industries. This is some serious stuff. If they even suspect that you are trying to gather information... Or worse yet, that you aren't Larry... Well, bad things will happen to you." said Blake, worried.

"I know there are risks. Just help me to know what to say, and how to act like Larry." said Mike.

"Alright. First thing is to talk like Larry. I have some videos of him from a few years ago."

"What's a vid - e - o?" asked Mike.

Blake sighed. "And that's the hardest part... We're going to have to get you up to speed with the modern world. How are we going to do that?" he asked, sounding defeated.

"I'm a right quick learner when I want to be." Mike said, with a mischievous grin.



In Doc Tripper's Office:



"Doc, I tell you, there's nothing wrong with me. I'm not from here. I have my own full set of memories, and they're not Mike's. Because I am Larry Fisher, Not Mike Gates." he said as patiently as he could.

"You said this place you think you're from is more advanced. Does that include medicine?" Doc Tripper asked.

"Do you have heart transplants here? Or antibiotics? They're a type of medicine that helps heal infections." asked Larry.

"Nothing like that exists, it's scientifically impossible!" declared the doctor.

"No it isn't. I don't have a medical degree, but I do know some basic things that could help you save many lives. If I can prove that I have some medical knowledge that could make a difference, would you believe me?" asked Larry, not quite sure why he cared if the older man believed him or not. "But I do care - a lot... Before I landed here, I wouldn't have lifted a finger for a country bumpkin like him." Larry thought to himself, confused.

"Of course. I know there's more out there than we can rightly explain or even understand. If you can help me to help others, I'll be very grateful." Doc Tripper replied.



Three weeks later:



"I'm a believer, thank you for your contribution to the world of medicine!" exclaimed Doc Tripper, as he shook Larry's hand.

"I'm glad I was able to do it, hopefully it saves a lot of lives." Larry replied sincerely.

"It surely will. Especially when my colleagues learn about it. And that other stuff that we now know is possible... You have singlehandedly advanced my field by at least fifty years!" the doctor exclaimed in awe.



In our world, also three weeks later:



"I never would have believed that anyone could learn how to use a car, computer, and phone in three weeks, but darned if you didn't do it, Mike! Congratulations!" Exclaimed Blake, obviously proud of the rapid progress they had made.

"It was all because of you. You're the best friend I could ever ask for - you and your twin, Davy." said Mike, almost overcome with emotion.

"Do you think you're ready to do this? Or maybe you would like to learn a little more about this world first?" asked Blake, secretly hoping his new friend wouldn't take the risk just yet.

"I need to get back to my family... I miss them, and I'm sure that Larry fellow wants to come back here. It's time, Blake." he said, resolutely.

"I'll see you tonight, then. If you need help, call me." he reminded Mike, for the hundredth time.

Mike took his phone out of his pocket, and called Appelt's private number. "Hello? I'm back, and better than ever!"

To be continued!

@indayclara here is the next part as promised :)

Cover image made in Canva using their gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency