My Ride - I Want To Go Home!

copy_of_my_ride.jpg

"Julie, I need to rest before supper. I'll be down by the lake." said Larry, shaken by the realization that he was most likely in another dimension of reality. He had never suspected that might be the case, until he saw Davy, an identical twin to his best friend Blake. Comparing experiences all but confirmed it.

As he gazed at the beauty surrounding him, Larry thought "Appelt Industries may have been working on making inter-dimensional travel a reality, but everything was still purely theoretical. And I wasn't near any of the equipment at the time - I was in my freakin' car!"

He put his head in his hands. "I've been gone a long time. Appelt must be going nuts! I wonder if he found my briefcase and laptop and stuff? I know he's probably having trouble getting those orders filled. The warehouse managers can do excellent impressions of sloths, unless you know how to handle them. I wonder if he's entrusted that to someone else, or has started doing the dirty work himself?" mused Larry, as one thought rapidly followed another.

"I know Appelt didn't want many people knowing what was being ordered... Either he or Collins must be doing it now." he thought, remembering the brilliant scientist who had made the breakthrough - and kept it a secret, until he could find someone with enough capital to monetize the discovery.

Only three people knew of the plan to open inter-dimensional portals in order to extract natural resources from other worlds. Appelt, Collins, and himself. "If they don't come looking, nobody will." he thought in despair.

Larry got up, and paced along the tiny beach. "If I'm here, there must be a way back... If there is, I'll find it! Unless Appelt comes through first." he declared, determined to have his life back.



Back in our world:



Mike blinked. "You mean that there's a map to my home, Blake?" he asked, in both disbelief and hope.

"No, but it's a clue. I'm hoping that it might help you get home. Mike, when you first saw Nina, did she look familiar?" Blake asked curiously.

"Very... She looks exactly like my Julie. Julie is my wife... And thanks for not calling me Larry..." he said, confused and sad, but more hopeful.

"After seeing what Appelt is working on, I'm pretty sure you are not Larry." replied Blake, still somewhat in shock.

"What's next, Blake? I just want to get back to my wife and son." asked Mike.

"I think the only one who can help you is Appelt, and he won't be wanting to do it. If he discovers that you aren't Larry, he might try to do something to you... So you'll have to be careful." replied Blake.

"I will. But I'll do anything to get home to my wife and son! I don't care how dangerous it is." said Mike firmly.

"I understand, I'd feel the same way!" said Blake warmly.



In Mr. Appelt's office - Appelt Industries Headquarters:



"I want those parts yesterday, Collins! We're already two weeks behind because of your incompetence. And to top it off, my only test subject is now unavailable." raged Appelt.

"Yes, Sir. I have been on the necks of the supervisors at the warehouse day and night. They claim they're doing their best. I don't believe them." Collins replied, almost as angrily.

"Well... At least your prototype is still available... If I can get our little lab rat back, maybe you will be that much more prepared when things fall into place." replied Appelt, who was smart enough not to push Collins too far. He was the only man who could help him fulfill his vision, after all.

"And Collins is actually a lot like me... Brilliant. Driven. Ahead of his time. He possesses the same qualities that have made me a success - just in smaller measure." thought the powerful businessman to himself.

"I thought the subject had amnesia?" Collins asked, surprised.

"Oh, he has memories. Some just don't belong to him. I suspect our little project here gave him the first taste of the future!" replied Appelt, obviously thrilled at the idea.

To be continued!

@indayclara here is the next part as promised :)

Cover image made in Canva using their gallery

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency